Posted in Parenting

Words to Fear: #2: Baby Gas

The past two days have been rather tough.  My son has been having gas trouble which means that he can go from being calm and serene, happily chirping away or peacefully sleeping to grimacing and wailing his heart out in an instant.

It always starts with a frown.  Then, very quickly, his face scrunches up and turns red as he brings his knees up to his belly and puts his hands into fists.  Then comes the moment that sends daggers through my heart each time: the trembling bottom lip followed by the wail.

I’ve concluded that it is gas because when it happens, his tummy is hard, his diaper is clean, he has recently nursed and nothing else seems to be bothering him.  Of course, what really gives it away is that when he actually does calm down, his change of mood is always closely followed by a few resounding farts.

So I talk to him, sing to him, smooth down the hair on his head.  I look at him in the eyes and tell him softly that I love him.  I put him in different positions, from cradling him, to sitting him down, to putting his head up against my shoulder or laying him down across my knees where I can rub and pat his back.  I stand up, walk around while I pat his bottom, settle down in a rocking chair and try to sway his tummy troubles away.  I even take out the pacifier.  I have a world of tricks up my sleeve to try to ease my little one’s gas.

Sometimes (notice the choice of adverb here) it is possible to calm him down quickly.  This usually happens when his tummy troubles happen in his sleep.  However, most of the time, it just takes time, patience and a combination of the many techniques listed above.

When it happens, it is always a trying time and I have to remind myself that it will pass eventually…when his digestive system matures…

Author:

Thirty-something year old discovering the joys and bumps of motherhood.

2 thoughts on “Words to Fear: #2: Baby Gas

  1. When my daughter was gassy as a baby, her pediatrician recommended giving her simethicone drops *before* a feed instead of after because, as he explained it, it helped to trap the extra air and made it easier for her to burp it afterwards instead of it getting trapped. Also you may want to try to burp him mid-feed at least once. 🙂
    Have you visited The Baby Whisperer forums? It’s a great community of moms! There is no topic or question you can’t bring up! Here is a stickied topic on colic, massage and recognizing an infant’s cries that you might find helpful: http://www.babywhispererforums.com/index.php?topic=4859.0

    1. I’ll have to talk to my son’s pediatrician about this and see what she thinks about the drops. Thanks for the reference to The Baby Whisperer, I hadn’t come across that site since surfing the Web. I’ve now become a member!

Let me know what you think! Please?!?

