Posted in Newborn, Uncategorized

I may be a Supermom but I am no Superwoman!

I’ve discovered over the past month that through the rough bits of motherhood, I’ve developed what I’ve come to regard as superpowers.  Yup, motherhood is funny that way, one day you’re normal little ol’ you and the next you discover a new ability.  Actually, my superpowers started coming in even before giving birth.  Here are the five that I’ve discovered so far.

  • Olfactory genius: Ok, moment of truth: I can’t remember ever having a good sense of smell.  My nose always seems to be perpetually and irrevocably partially clogged to a point at which my charming boyfriend has joked about buying some stocks from the kleenex company.  Yeah, very funny…  Point is, though, that when I became pregnant, my sense of smell flourished.  I mean, I felt like a Beagle.  I could smell things that people around me couldn’t even dream of picking up on.  I could tell what my boyfriend had eaten for lunch just by crossing the doorway to my home.  I would become overcome by odors that were hardly perceptible to people around me.  Supposedly, this is normal.  It would seem that it is a method for the pregnant body to ensure that nothing harmful is consumed by the mother.  It was annoying as heck though.  Luckily, this skill has turned off now that I am no longer pregnant.
    Image
    My parents’ dog Big: sniffer extraordinaire!
    • Supersonic hearing: Ok, I’ve been a musician for half of my life now, so my hearing’s actually pretty good to begin with, but that’s when I’m awake.  When I’m sleeping, don’t even try to wake me up.  My boyfriend used to joke when I was pregnant that he would be the one waking me up when our child would stir in his crib during the night because he is so tuned in to the little noises around the house, it’s scary.  I mean, sometimes he will be sleeping really soundly (and I will be awake, obviously, because he’s snoring his heart out and I’m an insomniac) and he will awake with a start if something falls in another room of our house.  Well, it turns out that we were both wrong in thinking that I’d have trouble waking up to the chirps of my child.  Usually, at night, I am awoken by the sound of my son stirring in his bed.  Sometimes, he’ll even be chirping about a bit.  I was only very rarely woken up by outright cries.  You know what the funny part is?  Sometimes, when I have to change his diaper during the night, my son wails out at the top of his lungs.  I mean, I’m sure all the dogs in the neighborhood start barking about when he cries because he’s so loud.  Despite the significant volume his little lungs can produce, there’s always one person that sleeps right through the night as though nothing had happened: my boyfriend.
      Image
      It took about two weeks before my son stopped crying his heart out EVERY time we changed him.
      • Multitasker extraordinaire: I’ve always been pretty good at multitasking, but now, I’ve taken that skill to a whole other level.  I mean, who thought that I could nurse, talk on the phone and navigate on the web all at the same time!
      • Accidental ambidexterity:  Those who know me well, know that I am totally dependent on my left arm.  I mean, I am a PURE lefty!  But because of that, I usually end up holding my son in my left arm which leaves (yup, you guessed it) my right arm for doing what needs to be done when I’m holding my attention-seeking-suck-up.  To my great surprise, I’ve even gotten good at using my right arm (I dare you to try to eat a whole meal with a baby cradled in your dominant arm as you eat with your non-dominant hand WITHOUT making any mess!).
      • Human pacifier: Besides the obvious reference to the fact that my son loves to be latched on to his mommy’s breasts, he also prefers sucking on my pinkies to calm down than on an actual pacifier (though why that is, I have no idea).  However, I also seem to have a power to calm the boy when he is irritably cranky.  Sometimes, when his father is holding him, or when he is in his crib or moses basket, he’ll start to fuss.  And sometimes all he needs to stop fussing, is to be in my arms.  Of course, there are times during which he is fussy even in my arms and I am at the end of my rope (that would be when he is cluster-feeding and overtired from fighting off sleep for five straight hours in the evening).  During those moments, he is better off being fussy in his father’s arms than in mine as he seems to become even more agitated when I am distressed.

Now, you may be wondering where I’m getting at with all of this.  Simply put, Christmas is right around the corner and my world has been turned so upside-down in the past month that I have scarcely had time to even think about that time of year.  What you need to know about me is that I hate Christmas.  Well, rather, I hate what Christmas has become – a spending competition of overconsumption.  A while back, I started looking at the lists my little sister and brother would write up and find something that wasn’t on it.  I wanted to surprise them and really make an effort to find something that would be catered to their tastes on my own.  After that, I decided that instead of purchasing my gifts, I would craft them and so I took up scrapbooking and offered baked goods for my loved ones.  This year though, I’ve had no time to reflect on what the people around me would like, nor have I had time to shop and you can FORGET scrapbooking and baking.  Point is, I guess the kiddo’s going to be the present this year.

I mean, after all, I may be a Supermom, but I am no Superwoman!

Author:

Thirty-something year old discovering the joys and bumps of motherhood.

Let me know what you think! Please?!?

