Posted in Infant

Officially Entering Infancy…With a BANG!

Oh.  My.  Goodness!

I think I finally see some light at the end of the tunnel.  What tunnel, you ask?  My son’s three month hell growth spurt.

The fourth day spurt caught me off guard.  At the two week mark, I was prepared, but it still exhausted me.  The 6 week spurt drove me nuts.  I didn’t think it could possibly get any worse.  I was wrong.  The three month growth spurt, it’s a doozy!  I was prepared for nursing more often.  I wasn’t prepared for all of the “extras”.

It started out four days ago.  Four looooooong and torturous days ago.  My son would scream and cry his little heart out as soon as I put him down.  At first, I thought he was hurt somewhere.  So I would pick him back up and try to see if it hurt him when I touched his back or head.  But, lo and behold, he would calm right up as soon as he was back in my arms.  Then, I thought he might be sick.  I lost count of the number of times I took his temperature during the first two days of his growth spurt.  Of course, he didn’t have a fever.  So I just had to grind my teeth and bear the shrieking every time I changed his diaper.  Because he would scream bloody murder every time.  Every.  Single.  Time.

Oh the joys of changing the diaper of a shrieking baby!
Oh the joys of changing the diaper of a shrieking baby!

So I finally figured out that he was only happy when he was in my arms.  But only being in my arms didn’t suffice.  Oh no!  Little Prince Charles had to be held just so whilst I walked around the house.  I know he’s still small and all, but walking around with a fifteen pound baby all day (because there was just no way he would tolerate being in his carrier) is tiring to say the least.

If it were just that, it wouldn’t be too bad.  But my son would not nap.  Urgh, I think that this was the hardest part.  I think that in the first three days, he napped about three hours…in total.  Of course, napping in his crib was out of the question.  Nothing I tried worked.  There was just no way I could put him down.  As soon as he hit the crib, he would scream out at me.  And then, of course, he was too pumped up to be able to fall asleep.  I finally was able to get him to fall asleep nursing a couple of times and allowed him to sleep on me.

Today, was better.  The day started out shakily enough, but I started to see some light at the end of the tunnel after he went through an hour-long nap – in his crib!  Then, everything started going uphill from there: the diaper changes were done with a smiling and cooing baby, we were able to do some tummy time, he played with his piano gym on his own for 20 minutes, didn’t protest when I put him down for another nap…

Right now, life is good.  His father just finished giving him his bath and is putting him to sleep.  And me, well, I’m FINALLY feeling like a competent mother again.

Happy 3 month birthday Charles.  I love ya to death even if you make me go nuts sometimes!

Finally!  My sweet little boy is back.
Finally! My sweet little boy is back.

Author:

Thirty-something year old discovering the joys and bumps of motherhood.

3 thoughts on “Officially Entering Infancy…With a BANG!

  1. Aww, I hear ya! Carrying around even a 10 lb baby would be daunting when it’s all day!! And the crying with the diaper changing is super hard too! Glad it’s a better day today. ❤

  2. It’s my girl’s 3 month birthday today & she just started her growth spurt yesterday. I now know right away if she’s starting a growth spurt if she stays awake longer than 2 hrs. The other sign is eating more often. She was on my breast every hour yesterday! And the only “naps” she took were directly following a feeding for 5-15 minutes & only if I didn’t budge an inch.
    There is very little independent time on those days. My girl also likes to be held just about all day & wanted to be entertained as well.
    I take solace in the fact that there is a pattern with growth spurt activities… 1-2 days of awake & hunger followed by 1-2 days of a seriously sleepy baby… or vice versa.
    Also I find relief that she manages to still sleep at night even on the awake/hunger phase to give mommy some rest time. This was NOT the case for her first major growth spurt when she didn’t take a nap longer than an hour for 37 hours straight… omg I was a zombie by the end of that!!! What was worse was that she had the sleepy day *before* the awake one, so I never really got to catch up on my sleep.

    1. I hadn’t noticed, but now that you mention it, I should have known it was a growth spurt because I couldn’t put him down for a nap. Next time, I’ll be more prepared when I see that he is staying awake longer than a 2 hours.

      Unfortunately, my son also had his sleep period before his growth spurt. We went from him waking up only once a night from week 7, to him sleeping through the night for five days (one before his growth spurt and four during it) to waking up five times a night for the past two nights. I think I’m going to go crazy!

Let me know what you think! Please?!?

