Posted in Uncategorized

Me? Author of a Beautiful Mama Blog? You Bet!

About a week ago, I received a comment on one of my posts from Valerie, author of the wonderful blog: atlantamomofthree, telling me that she was nominating me for a blog award she had recently created: the Beautiful Mama Blog Award.

ImageTo accept this award, I must do three things:

  1. Use the award image in my acceptance post.
  2. List three things that I love about motherhood.
  3. Nominate other deserving mamas (as many as I want) and notify them that they have been nominated.

Top three best things about motherhood!

  1. What I love about being a stay at home mom:  One of the things that I love, which is made possible by the 40 week maternity leave I am entitled to, is being able to see my son evolve every day.  It’s crazy how quickly he changes and I would not want to miss any of his “firsts” for anything in the world.
  2. What I love about being a breastfeeding mom: I love looking at my little chunkster (his new nickname), with all of his rolls, his squirrel-like cheeks and double chin and know that I am the one who is responsible for it all.  It amazes me that my body is able to produce exactly what my son needs to thrive for the first months of his life.
  3. What I love about being a mom:  No matter how exhausted and sleep-deprived I can be, no matter how stinky the diapers, how explosive the blowouts, how frequent the spit-ups, no matter how cranky he can be and how frustrated I can get, no matter how difficult his tummy troubles, how intense the crying spells, no matter how much he fights sleep and how much more difficult it has become to go out, I would not trade this life with the one I had before.  Because no matter how difficult it gets, all it takes is a smile, a laugh, a squeal of pleasure, a tiny pudgy hand holding one of my fingers, the regular breathing of my son when he falls asleep nursing in bed with me in the middle of the night… to forget all of the hardships that come with being a mom.

My nominees (in no particular order) are bloggers that I have been following for a few months now, most of whom actually found me first and allowed me to discover their blog by clicking the “like” button for one of my posts or leaving a comment.

Ladies, I am always eager to see your next post in my reader.  You make me laugh, make me cry and just plain simply make my day.

Author:

Thirty-something year old discovering the joys and bumps of motherhood.

4 thoughts on “Me? Author of a Beautiful Mama Blog? You Bet!

  1. Hi. 🙂 I love that the way you broke down the three things you love about motherhood into categories! What you said about breastfeeding is spot on – it is INCREDIBLE to see a child thrive on nothing but breastmilk. Miraculous, even! And the last sentence you wrote in the third thing is so sweet. Squeals of pleasure and tiny, pudgy hands – aww! 😀
    Yeah, you definitely deserve a beautiful mommy award. ❤

  2. Thank you. The squeals were a last minute addition as my son started this yesterday. At first, we though he was getting annoyed at being in his toy, but then we saw the big smile on his face and realized that he was squealing with pleasure. So cute!

  3. LOVE this!! “Because no matter how difficult it gets, all it takes is a smile, a laugh, a squeal of pleasure, a tiny pudgy hand holding one of my fingers, the regular breathing of my son when he falls asleep nursing in bed with me in the middle of the night… to forget all of the hardships that come with being a mom.”

    no matter how tough a night you had, the next morning you forget everything and can’t wait to do it again

Let me know what you think! Please?!?

