Posted in Infant, Newborn, Parenting

Where’s the Pause Button?

One year ago today, I learned that I was pregnant and was trying to find a clever way to announce it to my boyfriend after nearly 18 months of trying to conceive.  Of course, my method was so clever that I had to repeat my announcement three times before he finally understood.

Much has changed in one short year.  Besides moving out of our apartment and into our home I also went through my first pregnancy (with all of its ups and downs – though, admittedly, there were more ups than downs) and gave birth to my (almost always) wonderful son, that is when he’s not going through a wonder week and then turns into Crankymonster.

Only two short days ago, my son officially turned four months old!  Even as I write these words, I am wondering where the time has passed because I sure don’t feel like I’ve had him for four months!  It’s amazing, really, how warped time can feel.

A few stats in honor of his four months of life:

  • Current weight: About 16.4 lbs (7.46kg) – an 8.5 lb (3.88kg) gain from birth!  The little chunkster has already doubled his birth weight!
  • Current length: 65.5 cm (25.8 in.) – a 14.7 cm (5.8 in) gain from birth.  Roughly 1/3 of this gain happened in the last two months!  Yup, growth spurts do exist it seems!
  • Current number of photographs I have of him on my computer: 607 (and that’s without counting those that I deleted!)  Woah!  That’s an average of about 5 photos per day.

And boy has he changed!  On all levels!  He can now smile, sit with minimal support, suck on his thumb, grab his feet, laugh, coo (making more complex sounds), exasperate his parents, lift his head and chest off the ground while on his tummy, and I’m sure I’m forgetting some of his skills.

As for the physical changes, well, see for yourself…

 

2 days old.
2 days old.
P1000852
1 month old.
P1000989
2 months old.
P1010227
3 months old.
P1010401
4 months old.

Is is just me, or are his cheeks getting progressively bigger as the months go by?

Author:

Thirty-something year old discovering the joys and bumps of motherhood.

8 thoughts on “Where’s the Pause Button?

  1. Aww! Look at that smile – you are lucky to catch one on camera 🙂 My son will be 3 months next week – he is starting to smile a lot but we always miss the perfect picture! Congratulations.

    1. Thanks! He actually started using the social smile a while back, but in the last month has been using it a LOT. When I look through my pictures, almost all of the smiley ones are from the 3 to 4 month span. Most likely, you son will become more expressive now that he’s hitting 3 months too.

  2. Love the title of this post. I think this to myself every other day when I look at my 16 month old. And it’s great that you chart the developments on the blog. I do this for my daughter and am very thankful that I have all these photos and information to look back on. Love that smile too!

  3. we have at least that many photos as well! Kids are so lucky these days with digital photos that when they are older, they will be able to look back and see how they grew. I only have a handfull of photos from my childhood

    1. I agree. I was the firstborn so we have more photos of me than of my little sister and brother, but I don’t have nearly as many of me as I have of my son. What’s great about digital pictures is also that you don’t need to print them all out, you can make digital albums (because lets face it, though actual picture albums are a lot of fun, it’s hard to keep them up to date and they take up a LOT of space).

Let me know what you think! Please?!?

