Posted in Infant, Parenting

Frying Brain Cells During Tummy Time

Sound like a harsh title?  Well, some people would argue that it is spot on.  Why?  Because I let my son watch some Baby Einstein every day.

Yes, I am aware that studies have shown that it isn’t good to let a child under the age of 2 watch tv.  I am aware that allowing a baby that young watch tv is linked to a delay in the development of language in toddlers.

On the other hand I also know how important tummy time is.  Besides aiding in the prevention of positional plagiocephaly (flat head), it also helps in meeting milestones and is linked with a reduced risk of developmental delays and learning difficulties.

So, what does Baby Einstein have to do with tummy time, you may wonder?

Well, we do tummy time in several short increments during the day and using several different methods.  One of these methods consists of placing my son in front of my computer so he can watch some Baby Einstein for as long as he can stand being on his tummy, which, for the record, never exceeds 15 minutes (and that is on a very, very, very good day).

In short, my son hates tolerates tummy time, but loves Baby Einstein (you should see his face light up when he hears the music!), so I let him catch some screen time as he works on his muscles (and, at the same time, don’t have to hear him scream at me).

And you know what?

I don’t even feel guilty about it!

The way I see it, since I spend my day chattering, singing and actively playing with him  (when I’m not actively trying to calm him down and put him down for a nap), 15 minutes (max) of Baby Einstein per day, isn’t going to have much of an impact.

Would love to hear your thoughts on the subject.  (And you are allowed to disagree with me, you know, I’m a big girl, I can take it ;P )

Image
My pride and joy: Four months old and already knows how to use a computer.

Author:

Thirty-something year old discovering the joys and bumps of motherhood.

17 thoughts on “Frying Brain Cells During Tummy Time

  1. Don’t worry about studies’ results. Those Baby Einstein shows are so wonderful and stimulating. Perfect for tummy time (you are brilliant, btw) My little ones always hated TT too. Wish I’d had a laptop…and the thought to do a video! lol

    1. Yes, they are quite wonderful! I actually didn’t even know they existed until another blogger commented on them. As an added bonus, Baby Einstein also exposes my son to English (as we speak French at home).

      1. Are you watching them on youtube? We own several but the ones we don’t, Samuel occasionally still gets to watch on the computer. 🙂 That’s great that he is hearing English because of them! Samuel’s favorite currently, is Baby Wordsworth which focuses on everyday things around the house, by saying the word and learning the ASL sign for it. He is signing all the time now – it’s really fun!

  2. Well…let’s just say that my son is watching a lot worse, in order to extend the tummy time! We are also pulling all kinds of tricks out of our hats on this one esp now that he indeed has the dreaded Flat Head 😦 Today I started rolling a little car toy on the floor in front of him, there’s the “dancing ladybug” I bounce in front of him, and I also carry him around in “superman” position – but all of these take a lot of effort/energy/concentration. So yeah, some TV has snuck in – I think of it as moving pictures. Tomorrow I will try some Baby Einstein 🙂

  3. To me there is a distinction between “tv” and something intentional like a DVD for a baby to watch. Those studies further go on to say that it’s the flashy lights/colors and fast-paced cartoons that can mess with a baby’s brain.
    However, those Baby Einstein DVDs are *designed* for babies! They are slow moving and there are never any flashy strobe-type lights. It exposes them to words, numbers, sights, sounds and languages which can help grow their brains.
    Absolutely nothing to feel bad about!!!!!!!!!!! 🙂

    1. I agree. And I think that the fact that they are slow moving is one aspect that babies love. My son loves watching one of the puppets walk across the screen and I can see he is following the puppet by watching his head move from left to right.

      1. When my girl watches something and it goes off screen, she keeps looking to the side like she’s expecting it to come out from behind the laptop! LOL It’s too funny. She’s learning the difference between real life vs something on the screen.

  4. I allow my girl to watch baby Einstein too! And i actually love them 🙂 she goes crazy with the animal series. I agree with gwenacious that Baby Einstein is made for babies and doesnt contain all that is objectionable about tv programs in general.

    What I do though, is that I watch it with her and talk to her along the way so there is still some level of interaction (bearing in mind that I work full time and already have very little quality time with her).

    1. I’ve tried sitting with him and describing what we are seeing, but each time, he’s gotten pissed off at me probably saying “what are you doing just sitting there and talking to me when you could be holding me?”. So I generally sit behind him so that him longer to realize that he could be doing something else than being on his tummy.
      But I think that it’s great that this is one of the ways you can spend quality time with your daughter!

    1. Wow, thanks a ton! I had already received a nomination earlier this month from another fellow blogger so it may take me a couple of weeks until I post this one up. Now, I get to search for other great blogs that have less than 200 followers!

  5. My daughter is 8 months old and we always have Baby First TV going in the background. She also hated tummy time and we used it as a ploy as well. My husnand and I now have our favorites and least favorites of this programming, but my daughter just giggles at it. I don’t think it is stunting her at all. She has reached all of her milestones and even started learning spacial differences and sound relations much earlier.

    1. When I first started Baby Einstein during tummy time, I figured “desperate times call for desperate measures”. Now, however, I see it as a learning opportunity. Much like your daughter, I am certain that it will help rather than hinder my son’s ability to learn. Thanks for stopping by!

Let me know what you think! Please?!?

