Posted in Infant

Developmental Milestone: Sitting Up Unsupported

It never ceases to amaze me how quickly babies learn.  I mean, one day my son is sitting precariously, dependent on having my hand on his chest so as to not topple forward and the next, he figures out how to keep his center of balance and use his arms to hold himself up when he starts to lean forward too much.  Of course, I had to keep his Boppy snugly held against his body for the first few days whilst he learned to better control his core muscles.  But even that only lasted a few days.

Now, my son can sit up completely unsupported.  He is able to grab toys that are in front of him or to his side without falling over.  He brings them expertly to his mouth without swinging himself backwards and finding himself on his back.  We are able to play, sitting on the floor like that for a good quarter hour before he starts to tire.   He is even able to keep his balance on soft surfaces such as his crib mattress and the couch.

He is also beginning to understand that he can probably roll over from tummy to back.  All that’s left is for him to figure out what to do with his arm exactly.  Right now, when I put him on his tummy, he works so hard to try to turn that he actually ends up rotating.  It’s quite funny, he’ll start with his head at one end of the blanket (say…at 12 o’clock) and will end up turning a little over 90 degrees counterclockwise.

I am in awe of everything that he has accomplished so far and some days miss the tiny fragile baby that I brought into the world.  But I know that life goes on and time will continue to fly as I watch my pride and joy grow up!

P1010586

Author:

Thirty-something year old discovering the joys and bumps of motherhood.

5 thoughts on “Developmental Milestone: Sitting Up Unsupported

  1. Yay! Great milestone! He will love his world a little more from hs upright vantage poiint! They do learn so quick, the week I watched my daughter struggle to pull herself to her feet, next time she does it like she’s been Kung it forever.

Let me know what you think! Please?!?

