Posted in Parenting

Stop, Drop and Read

Aurora from Metal Angel reblogged this article today on her blog.  I think that it is a sadly accurate representation of the world that we live in with such easy access to technology.  I am not exempt of faults in this department, and the blog post brought about a self-examination on my part.

The author wrote the post after receiving an email that shook her to the core.  Here is that email:

“I can recall a time when you were out with your children you were really with them. You engaged in a back and forth dialog even if they were pre-verbal. You said, ‘Look at the bus, see the doggie, etc.’ Now I see you on the phone, pushing your kids on the swings while distracted by your devices. You think you are spending time with them but you are not present really. When I see you pick up your kids at day care while you’re on the phone, it breaks my heart. They hear your adult conversations. What do they overhear? What is the message they receive? I am not important; I am not important.”

So stop what you’re doing, drop your phone/close your laptop/turn off your desktop and after you have read the article, step away from the virtual world and come into the real world.

Breathe in, breathe out.  Don’t worry, your phone’s going to be OK, I promise.

Author:

Thirty-something year old discovering the joys and bumps of motherhood.

One thought on “Stop, Drop and Read

Let me know what you think! Please?!?

