Posted in More Than A Mom

Tom Kha Gai – Oh So Much Yummy!

When Little Dinosaur Baby shared this recipe on her blog a couple of days ago, I just could not wait to try it!  So today, I went out and bought the ingredients to pull it off and seriously, it’s good!  No, not good, out-of-this-world-yummy! 😀

The recipe called for just a couple of ingredients that I just didn’t have near the suburb in which I live: namely galangal (which, I found out resembled ginger) and fresh kaffir lime leaves and so I substituted both with fresh ginger and the zest of two limes respectively.  Furthermore, because I wanted my sister to be able to taste it, I used shrimp instead of chicken as she is a partial vegetarian and the only kind of meat she eats is fish and seafood.

I really loved this!  The coconut milk made it nice and silky, the lime juice made it tangy and it was slightly salty.  Now, I don’t know how authentic it turned out to be taste-wise (I guess I’ll have to try and find a good Thai restaurant to compare), but boy was it good!  I am definitely going to make this again.

My bowl of Tom kha gai just before devouring it!
My bowl of Tom kha gai just before devouring it!

I’m always up for a new culinary adventure!  Any suggestions as to what I should make next?

Author:

Thirty-something year old discovering the joys and bumps of motherhood.

2 thoughts on “Tom Kha Gai – Oh So Much Yummy!

Let me know what you think! Please?!?

