Posted in Infant, Parenting

Wonder What’s Going On? It’s Probably A Wonder Week…

I’ve been meaning to write about this for a little while now, but have lacked both the time and energy to do so.

You see, for the past month or so, my son has been going through the notorious pre wonder week fussy period.  Much like last time, it lasted a whole month.

Here are a few of the telltale signs that his little brain is about to go through another developmental leap:

  • – Naps and nights were a NIGHT’MARE.  It got so bad that on a few occasions I had to step out of the house for a few moments as he screamed at the top of his lungs (I swear, it was like he was being tortured) to calm down.
  • – He needed to be stuck to me all the time.  I could hardly ever put him down for a few seconds without him getting into a crying fit.
  • – He wanted to be entertained continuously; if I wasn’t chatting with him or letting him in on some fun activity, he would start screaming at me.
  • – Diaper changes reminded me of the time he was a newborn, they were spent with him screaming and kicking and twisting around.

– I started to question my ability as a mother.  This is probably the strongest telltale sign for me.  Every time I’ve started to feel that way in the six months that I’ve had my son, it always turned out to be right before a wonder week.

Of course, though, wonder weeks aren’t all bad as they are a surefire sign that your baby is about to start rocking some awesome new skills.

What awesomeness comes out of wonder week 26?

Here are a few of the things that I’ve observed so far:

  • – He can play with something using both hands.
  • – He grabs a ball that is rolled towards him.
  • – He knocks over containers to see what is inside.
  • – He throws things away (he is actually VERY adept at this now…).
  • – He drops things from his high chair.
  • – He is fascinated with laces, ribbons and the tags on stuffed animals and pieces of clothing.
  • – He observes adult activities.
  • – He pays a lot of attention to smaller details or parts of a toy or other object.
  • – He selects a toy to play with.
  • – He is starting to make connections between actions and words (such as hug, kiss, nap, let’s go).

– He puffs and blows.

What is wonder week 26 exactly?

Well, according to the authors of the book, it is at this moment that babies start to perceive the distance between two objects.  This explains why separation anxiety usually hits shortly after; they understand that their primary caregivers can go away without them.  They also become more adept at understanding relationships by associating a sound to an action or  an action to a consequence.

The best part?

Once the fussy period is over, I get my sweet happy baby back!

P1020011

 

 

 

Author:

Thirty-something year old discovering the joys and bumps of motherhood.

7 thoughts on “Wonder What’s Going On? It’s Probably A Wonder Week…

  1. The good news is that you have that cute little smile to keep you going (I’m absolutely certain God made babies so cute so that we would be able to put up with them). I still have days where I have to step away for a moment and mentally scream and my youngest is 2 1/2. When they’re happy, they are the most precious little beings in the world….but good Lord, when kids are cranky or growing! BEASTS! Luckily, as you said, they do go back to being wonderful and that’s what to keep in mind! It’s a learning process for both of you and is different with every kid so you never really know what’s going on! So much fun, right?! 🙂

  2. Check, check, check and check! Just went through all that crap with my LO. It was just a few days shy of her turning 6 months and poof! From one day to the next I magically got my happy baby back after a week of absolute HELL. We’re still experiencing more upsetness/freak out if mommy isn’t around or heaven forbid she witnesses me leaving – oh no! But at least she got back most of her ability to play independently (though now she gets into trouble quick whenever I put her sitting up on her floor mat with a Boppy around her…in less than a minute if she’s not in the mood to sit up & play, she gently falls down to be on her back and then shimmies to her side (gently rolling down off the side of the Boppy) and then she’s sideways and on her belly and when she sees I’ve already made it the five steps to the kitchen and my lower body disappears behind the counter… oh no mom, come back here!!!
    There is nothing worse than when a wonder week & a growth spurt happen at the same time!!!
    I would have to add “finding her voice” to the list of achievements now… talking a bunch! A lot of “bababababa”s like she thinks she’s making sentences… it’s cute.

    1. Urgh, agreed that a wonder week and growth spurt at te same time is horrible! I’m glad it’s over on your end too! It’s so cute that she’s babbling; I can’t wait for my son to start. Right now, he only does it to his toys when he thinks we aren’t watching, but as soon as he sees us, he stops.

Let me know what you think! Please?!?

