Posted in Parenting

The Waiting Game

This morning, I dialed the number that my son’s pediatrician had jotted down on the post-it she stuck to the allergist referral she gave me yesterday.  I did not hold for a very long time on the line before hearing the receptionist’s greeting.  After a brief exchange of formalities, I explained why I was calling.  She then proceeded to ask me quite a few questions to open up a file on my son for the hospital.  Among the questions, she asked what my son had had a reaction to.  I told her, specifying that Little Dude had only been on solids for three weeks.  The lady, then gave me some instructions to follow.

For our appointment, I need to bring all of the fruits and vegetables my son has had an allergic reaction to in separate ziploc bags, taking care that there is no cross-contamination.  This means that I am really going to have to give my son just one food item at a time for a given meal.  The rest of the food, they have at the hospital.  I was also instructed to make sure that my son is not given any anti-histamines for a whole week prior to the appointment.  This includes benadryl and means that I will only be feeding my son food that I know he won’t react to for that whole week (no introduction of new foods in that period of time).

Then, she gave me the date of the appointment.  It’s going to be on the 30th…

…of October!

Yeah…that means I get to play detective for the next five months or so.

Good thing I have my blog to keep track of everything he ate and everything that happened.  I also decided to start a spreadsheet so that I could log my son’s reactions to different foods.  I have a tab per month and have a column for each date.  I programmed it so that if I write an “o” (as in OK) the cell will turn green and if I write a “n” (as in No) the cell will turn red.  This will help me greatly in discovering the offending foods and will allow me to see a pattern emerge (if any).

I’m actually hoping that by the time the appointment comes around, there will be no allergies to be seen and the allergist will chalk it up to me being over-worried.  But I’m not holding my breath…

Author:

Thirty-something year old discovering the joys and bumps of motherhood.

13 thoughts on “The Waiting Game

    1. Wow!! I was just looking at your profile since we have a shared outrage about waiting until October for this appointment, and! You’re in NYACK! I’m from Pearl River! I used to live in Nyack! (Now I’m in Ossining…)

      Hello!!

      (cue the it’s a small world theme…)

  1. Wow. October! That is a VERY long time to wait. Is there any way your regular ped. can do a blood test? My pediatrician did one on Little Z when he was 4 or 5 mo. old… It was fruitless because he is intolerant, not allergic, but it sounds to me like your little one has a true allergy.

    1. Yeah our health care system is kind of…um…sucky (for lack of a better tern) with regards to waiting times. I have to go see the pediatrician to get a script for an epipen so I’ll ask her about a blood test too.

Let me know what you think! Please?!?

