Posted in Parenting

Waaaay Past Annoyed

First off, I apologize in advance because I am about to launch into a rant.

Those of you who have been following this blog for the past month, will probably have an idea of the issue I am about to address.

I just got back from the pediatrician’s office.  We went back in two weeks after his previous visit because Charles has had more allergic reactions to food.  My goal was to at least get a script for an epipen in case his next reaction turned into something worse than hives.  I also wanted a RAST test (which requires blood to be drawn) to be prescribed so that I could know exactly what he is allergic to right now.  That way, I can be more certain of which foods (besides dairy) to avoid.

Here are the salient points from our appointment…

1.  The pediatrician won’t prescribe an epipen because he’s too young.  To further argue her cause, she cites that he has “only” had hives so far.   “Just don’t give him the foods he’s reacted to (duh!), keep some benadryl with you at all times (double duh!) and bring him to the ER if his reaction is more severe (triple duh!)”.  So if my 7 month old stops breathing on me after eating something then I have to drive 20 min. to the nearest hospital.  Excellent.

2.  We’re also not getting a blood test done.  I can’t really cite the reasons; by that time, I had decided to learn from her and ignore what she was saying.

3.  When she asked me to repeat which foods he’d had a reaction to, I recited them again.  Mentioning that I was certain about an allergy to dairy, tomato and cantaloupe and was still unsure about wheat, eggs, fish and blueberries.  She nods her head and asks me how old he is (what, you mean you didn’t take a few minutes to read his file before calling us in?!?).  7 months.  And then she goes on to scold me because supposedly he’s too young to be having fish, eggs and dairy.  WTF?  Since when?  It’s not like I gave him nuts.  And it’s not like I had any idea that he’d have a reaction in the first place because neither my partner or I have any food allergies.  Besides, I didn’t know when I started solids that his eczema was most likely a sign that he was reacting to something that was in my milk (more on that in the next point).  In her opinion, my son should be on cereal, fruits and veggies.  Good thing she doesn’t know we’re not doing purées!  Also, the introduction of solids, much like every other aspect of parenting, has many many many schools of thought.

4.  I told her that I’d read that his eczema might be a result of an allergic reaction to the lactose he gets through my breastmilk because I eat dairy.  I went on to add that I was meeting with a dietician tomorrow so that she can help me with an allergy elimination diet starting with the removal of all milk products from my meals.  The pediatrician tells me that I should definitely be removing not only dairy but anything else that my son has reacted to so far as though it was the most obvious thing in the world (let me remind you here that the last time I went – two weeks ago – she had asked me if I’d had to remove anything from my diet since giving birth and when I said ‘no’ she didn’t suggest that dairy was one of the things that was probably causing my son’s bad eczema).

5. As seems to be the case with our recent appointments, she kept focusing on his eczema.  So, I ended up getting a prescription for a moisturizing cream, another prescription for a cortisone cream for his body, another one to control his itchiness and a reminder that the cortisone cream we already have at home is for his face…

Basically, we’re going to be treating the symptoms instead of the cause until our appointment with the pediatric allergist comes up in October and hoping that his hives stay “just” hives to avoid a trip to the ER.

I’m really hating our health care system right now.  I know that the grass only looks greener on the other side of the fence and that no matter where I’d go, I’d have to face different challenges, but the grass is looking pretty yellowish to my eye on my side of the fence right now…

OK, rant over.

Author:

Thirty-something year old discovering the joys and bumps of motherhood.

16 thoughts on “Waaaay Past Annoyed

  1. It sounds like you and your pediatrician really differ on your views, which stinks. I think the reason that those foods (among others) are on the wait-until-their-older list is because of the possibility of reactions. I remember being told to wait on giving any milk or yogurt until a year because it could cause a sensitivity to dairy if offered earlier because their body isn’t able to process it the same as when they’re older. (Or something like that)
    It’s hard to know when to introduce foods to little ones, isn’t it? because there are such varying ideas of when it’s ok. I was scared to give Sam eggs or peanut butter (as a toddler) because of the fear of allergic reaction. It’s scary!
    I’m sorry you have to wait until October to see the allergist. :/

    1. I remember being told to hold off on cow’s milk until 12 months, but that yogurt, cheese etc. was OK (I suspect because the milk had gone through a transformation of sorts). It is definitely not easy, because reputable sources do contradict one another with regards to the introduction of solids. Can’t do much more than go with the flow until we see the allergist though. 🙂

  2. The ‘parenting’ gurus change their recommendations so often too. When my first was 4mths old we were told to introduce solids at 6 months, but only 19 mths later when my son was that age, we were told 4 months was fine to start!
    Sorry you have to wait so long. Waiting is not something we parents do well when it comes to our kids 🙂

    1. That is so true, recommendations seem to change all the time. And as for waiting, I totally agree with you; though I am usually a very patient person, I definitely am not when it comes to my son!

  3. You poor thing, and poor baby! I would be just as irritated/angry as you are. Standard Dr. recommendations change WAY too much so you never know if they are really right or not. Is it possible to find another pediatrician that would be more sympathetic? I feel for you! 😦

    1. If I had the luxury of switching pediatricians, believe me, I would. The things is, though, up here, there is a shortage of doctors of all sorts, including pediatricians so you’re lucky when you can even get one. We’ll just continue to take this one day at a time. 🙂

  4. That sucks you have to go through that. We went through similar with our 2 daughters, but there were times when a doctor or nurse was not up to my standards and we would consider another place. I am always under the assumption that we, as consumers (and we all know the medical field IS a business), should be able to pick and choose our right health care providers that we feel comfortable with. Hopefully everything gets better! -OM

    1. I would actually love to be able to pick another pediatrician. Sadly, that is not the way things work around here :(. Right now, if I wanted to change I’d either have to move far enough away or go to the private sector (despite having almost a quarter of my salary going towards the public-funded health-care system). Thanks for the support.

Let me know what you think! Please?!?

