Posted in More Than A Mom

Key Lime Cheesecake – Sans Fromage!

You know how it’s always when you can’t have something that you want it the most?

You see, I’ve been craving cheesecake recently.  I mean, really craaaaaaaaving.  Of course, I can’t have any because I have taken dairy out of my diet for my son.

Or can I?

I remembered how I’d gone to a vegan restaurant with my little sis a couple of years back and they had cheesecake on the menu.  Of course, it wasn’t real cheesecake but it was real good!

I can’t say I rock enough to have invented the recipe, but with the help of a few key words in Google, and a hop on Pinterest I found two recipes that looked good and merged them.  I took the recipe for the crust here and used the one for the filling that I found here.

Would you like to know what’s in it and how to make it?

Of course you do!

What’s in it?

P1030376For the crust (left)

  • 8 medjool dates, soaked and pits removed (I let them soak as I measured out the other ingredients)
  • 1 cup of mixed nuts (mine contained brazil nuts, pecans, almonds and cashews)
  • 1 cup shredded unsweetened coconut

1 tsp cinamon

For the filling (right)

  • 3 cups raw macadamia nuts
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1 cup key lime juice
  • 3/4 cup raw agave nectar
  • 3/4 cup coconut oil (unbleached and unrefined)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

Now, for some reason, I did the filling first (must be mommy brain) which meant that I had to pour the filling in a bowl as  I mixed the ingredients for the crust.  Don’t be silly like me, make your crust first.

What to do?

Crust

  1. Mix everything but the dates until the mixture is reduced to a coarse meal.
  2. Add the dates and keep blending until well blended and sticky.
  3. Press the mixture in a pie mold.

Filling

  1. Put all ingredients in food processor (if you’re smart, unlike me, you’ll make sure the food doesn’t go past the max food level).
  2. Pulverize until the mix has a smooth texture.
  3. Pour the filling into the crust.
  4. Place in the freezer for 2h.
  5. Eat
4.  Key Lime Cheesecake Sans Fromage
4. Key Lime Cheesecake Sans Fromage

And, just because I had time and my son was being quiet, I actually pressed my key limes.  If you don’t have a lot of time on your hands, I would suggest you just buy some ready pressed, because it took 2lbs of them to get a cup of freshly pressed lime juice!  (But it was TOTALLY worth it because I absolutely LOVE key lime).

Author:

Thirty-something year old discovering the joys and bumps of motherhood.

5 thoughts on “Key Lime Cheesecake – Sans Fromage!

  1. This sounds delicious! I’ve always wondered about the many recipes that use cashews to make cheese cake/sauce/etc. Good to know its tasty!

    1. It’s quite amazing what you can do with macadamia nuts. You just have to blend a lot to get a smooth texture. If I were to redo it, I would probably soak the nuts (another recipe called for soaking) to see if I could get them down to an even smoother texture.

Let me know what you think! Please?!?

