Posted in Blogging

Good Bye Abby

When I was a child, we had a dog.  I remember going with my dad to get the puppy that we’d be bringing home.  It was a German Shepard Lab probably mixed in with a few other dogs.  Not that it matters: it was a dog!  It was cold, probably winter; my dad had his leather jacket on.  I remember him putting the tiny dog inside his coat to keep him warm and I remember that the puppy had actually peed on him while in his jacket.  I don’t know how much of this flash of memory is accurate.  I was young: 4 or 5 years old because we were living in the townhouse at the time.  But that is how I remember it.

A few years later, we had to get rid of the dog.  I’m hazy on the details, but from what I’ve gathered he was crazy.  From puppy, he had grown into a rather large and strong dog that had been untrained.  He’d eaten through walls and broken down fences by that time and one day, I came home to no dog.  My dad explained that he’d had to bring him back.

From that day on, each time I asked for a pet my father’s answer would invariably be the same: “No.  No dog, no cat, no bird, no hamster, no lizard…no pets”.  I remember always feeling as though my dad was being unfair.  I mean, didn’t he understand that I wanted a pet even if only to replace the fact that the dog wasn’t there anymore.  Didn’t he?

Of course he did.  He understood even more than I did at that time how hard it was to not have the dog anymore.  He was the one who had picked him out of the litter as a puppy after all.  And he was also the one who’d had to get rid of him.  And he was hurting badly.  Or, I suspect.  On Saturday, I understood this.  It took me 18 years, but I now understand why he was so adamant about not having any pets in the house.

You see, on Saturday, a volunteer from the wonderful shelter we had started the adoption process for Abby came to our house to take her and place her in another family.  After having her in our house for nearly a month, we realized as a couple that it wasn’t the right time for us to have a dog.  It’s not because she was aggressive or dangerous (she definitely was not).  It’s not because she is not fully house trained and had a few accidents inside the house.  It’s not because of needing to get up at 4:30 am to bring her outside so that she could relieve her bladder.  It’s not because of the fact that her curiosity knew no bounds and that we were regularly having to distract her away from an unauthorized activity (like trying to get to the food sitting on the kitchen counter).  It’s mostly because my partner and weren’t on the same page with regards to the lengths we’d go through to ensure her well-being.  This was made especially clear after I came back from the vet with a 500$ hole in our bank account.  We decided that for the sake of our relationship, it was better that she be placed in a family in which every member was ready to have a dog.

Sad doesn’t even begin to describe how I felt when Lindsay from Nali Animal Orphanage came to get her.  I was not even able to see her off.  I couldn’t bring myself to watch the car pull away.  It’s crazy how quickly I became attached to the happy-go-lucky puppy in just under a month.  But in that instant, I understood why my dad seemed to have such a hard shell with regards to pets after having to let our dog go so many years ago.

I don’t blame my partner for the fact that Abby is no longer with us.  Nor do I resent him.  This experience was a positive one and we all (Charles included) grew from it.  My partner now knows what it’s like to have a dog (he never had any pets growing up) and he knows that he wants a dog in the future.  And I am willing to wait for him to be completely ready to have one.  Now that he knows what it’s like, I know the next time will work out.  I just have to wait for him to be ready.  My son learned to not be afraid of dogs.  Now, when I go to my parents’ house, I can set him down on the floor and he’ll play with their dog nearby.  Whereas my son used to cling to me for dear life when he saw a dog, he had come a long way and now will reach out to try to pet the dog if it is calm.

Good bye Abby.  May you find an awesome permanent family to take care of you.  I will miss you, you Silly Goose.

P1030978

Author:

Thirty-something year old discovering the joys and bumps of motherhood.

12 thoughts on “Good Bye Abby

  1. Our dogs are such a huge part of our family! I would never give them up. Even with expensive vet bills and food and soiled carpet and chewed up furniture and other damaged items… Little man loves his “brothers” and we well always be a dog family. Aside from company and love, they have provided protection and comfort. I know that having a dog is not right for everyone or all the time, but it is for us.

    When I was little, we had to give up a dog. It was better for her though. She kept running away and was scared of my dad who looked like her previous owner that beat her. She went to a farm where she could run all day and live with other animals. A few years later we got another dog and loved him until he died 6 years ago.

    1. Yes, dogs are a great addition to a family! And they are generally wonderful with children. They really have an instinct that allows them to distinguish who they can be rowdier with and who they have to be quieter around.

      I totally understand that you would never think of giving your dogs up and your son is definitely lucky to have them around.

      I really wish I could have kept her, but not at the cost of my relationship. I take solace in the knowledge that she is in a family better suited to meet her needs and the fact that we will have a dog somewhere down the line.

      1. I agree with you that your relationship and family is more important than having a dog. I’ll keep my fingers crossed that you get a dog that works with your family and you don’t have to wait too long for it 😉

Let me know what you think! Please?!?

