Posted in Parenting

Ten Thought Tuesday: The Late Edition

TTT

1.  Well, I’m a day late with this post, but I have a good excuse.  I was the lucky recipient of the stomach flu yesterday, so I was in no shape to do anything other than sleep and attempt to remain hydrated.

2.  I’m better today, but I’m happy I’m not working, I drove my son to daycare this morning and I’ve been working on disinfecting the house.

3.  I received my Allerject tester the other day and have tried it out a few times.  I was surprised at how hard you actually have to press the device against your thigh.

4.  I also received the sleep sack I ordered from ladycjayne‘s Etsy shop.  It is ADORABLE.  Can’t wait to get my son in it!

5.  I brought my car to the garage to get my winter tires on and get my oil changed, except I forgot my tires at home…

6.  I’m happy to announce that Valerie is the winner of the Beltlock that was up for grabs!  I’ll be sending it your way as soon as possible 😉

7.  Last weekend we tried out some awesome games that my co-worker and I bought for our school.  Among our favourites were: Wazabi and Beat the Buzzard.

8.  The little guy took a couple of steps on his own yesterday at daycare!

9.  I’m going to need to look into which toddler formula to buy for the little guy.  The pediatric allergist told me that he’d need some until he is 2 years old to get enough fat content since he can’t drink cow’s milk.  I also need to figure out how much he needs per day…

10.  Little Dude’s 1st birthday is in two days!  Can you believe it?  Time goes by so quickly!

Happy Wednesday everyone!

Author:

Thirty-something year old discovering the joys and bumps of motherhood.

14 thoughts on “Ten Thought Tuesday: The Late Edition

  1. Boo hoo for the sickness bug. Hope your feeling better. Ha ha about the wheels. We changed ours just this past saturday. That time of the year once again.
    Ekkk 1st birthday ! Any plans for a party ?

    1. Hehe, boo indeed. The stomach flu is gone; it was chased away by a cold LOL. I figure I may as well laugh, I can’t remember ever being this sick in my life before.

      Do you guys have to change your tires by law over there? We used to be able to use 4 season tires over here, but in our province,they decided to make it a law that one needed winter tires from December to April.

      And yes, 1st birthday! I have absolutely no plans for the actual day, but we are planning a small party in a couple of weekends.

      1. I’m not to sure if it’s law. It just makes life so much easier for everyone. The roads of a nightmare once the snow hits. I don’t think we would even make it out the road with out winter tires.

  2. Oh, BOO for being sick again! The flu wasn’t enough?! Yikes. 😦
    YAAAAY, I won!!! Super excited, I am! My husband likes the look of it too (I showed him the day you started the giveaway). 🙂
    Aww, and yay for walking. Sam started a few days shy of his first birthday too. 😀

    1. It seems like I’m being attacked by all existing germs. First the flu, then a stomach bug and now a cold. Oh well, I suppose it’ll all be over after, right?

      I’ll probably be able to send you the beltlock during my day off next week! It’s great that it’s a product that both you and your husband like!

      1. As you already know, I’m sure – the flu really strains the body’s immune system, which is likely why you’re getting sick again. 😦 My husband and I were both sick for weeks the year we got the flu. O_O It was terrible.

      2. It is definitely a resilient little virus, to say the least. The last time I came down with the flu (a few years ago) I got over it rather quickly. Then again, the last time I got the flu, I was able to sleep pretty much as much as I wanted lol.

      1. There’s sometimes a soy “allergy” in kids with dairy allergy. Did they test for that? You might want to Google it if you get a fast chance so your partner can ask questions at the appointment. (Or just ignore me. I really don’t mind! Just throwing this out there. I hate to be presumptive of anything! It is a very complex issue.)

        The following is excerpted from an article from the American Family Physician journal but you can find it summarized on-line on many websites regarding kids and allergies:

        http://www.aafp.org/afp/2009/0401/p565.html

        SOY FORMULAS
        According to a recent guideline from the AAP, the use of soy formula should be limited to infants with galactosemia or congenital lactase deficiency.11 Soy formula may also be used by strict vegan families who wish to avoid animal protein. The AAP guideline cites a lack of proven benefit for other conditions including milk protein allergy, generalized colic, and acute gastroenteritis.

        One cohort study identified soy formula as a risk factor for the development of peanut allergy (odds ratio = 2.6; 95% confidence interval, 1.3 to 5.2).14 A subsequent randomized controlled trial failed to demonstrate any such association.15 Thus, the evidence regarding soy formula and peanut allergy is mixed; additional studies are needed. Soy formulas are not effective for the prevention of atopic disease.16

        Soy protein contains phytoestrogens and isoflavones, which have been shown to have estrogenic effects in animals. Early concerns were raised that these compounds might have deleterious hormonal effects on growing infants. A retrospective cohort study demonstrated increased menstrual bleeding in women exposed to soy during infancy, but found no statistical difference in more than 30 other variables studied.18 Feminization has not been seen in male infants fed soy protein.

        HYPOALLERGENIC AND NONALLERGENIC FORMULAS

        Only a small minority of infants have true immunoglobulin E (IgE)-mediated milk protein allergy. In these cases, infants form antibodies against large protein molecules in cow’s milk. Milk protein allergy can present with any combination of cutaneous, respiratory, and gastrointestinal complaints; blood in the stool is a classic symptom. Milk protein allergy is usually diagnosed in the setting of a strong family history of allergies or atopic disease. Referral to an allergist may be helpful because skin prick tests and IgE levels for cow’s-milk protein are available. Non-IgE-mediated cow’s-milk protein intolerance can manifest as enteropathy and enterocolitis. Because most infants with milk-induced enteropathy will be equally sensitive to soy protein, hypoallergenic and nonallergenic formulas are the preferred alternatives.11

        Hypoallergenic formulas contain extensively hydrolyzed proteins that are less likely to stimulate antibody production. Infants with milk protein allergy fed hypoallergenic formula have slightly greater weight gain during the first year than infants fed standard formula.23 In addition, many infants show improvement in atopic symptoms. A few infants continue to have symptoms despite switching to hypoallergenic formula; nonallergenic amino acid–based formulas are effective for these rare cases.24

        The increasing incidence of asthma, eczema, and food allergy has led to substantial interest in the prevention of atopic disease. There is strong evidence that exclusive breastfeeding until at least four months of age decreases the incidence of eczema and protects against wheezing.25 It appears that formulas with extensively hydrolyzed proteins may also have protective benefits,16 but the higher expense of hypoallergenic formulas must be considered when deciding whether to recommend them for prevention in asymptomatic infants. Amino acid–based formulas have not been studied for prevention of atopic disease.

      2. Wow, thanks so much for the thorough reply! We actually did not test for a soy allergy because we have tried soy with our son on a few occasions and he has not had any adverse reactions. I will definitely be keeping an eye open for any signs of an allergy though and will ask about a hypoallergenic formula if something feels off. I had no idea there were so many conflicting studies with regards to soy-based formulas. Grr…definitely not simple.

Let me know what you think! Please?!?

