Posted in Blogging, Ten Thought Tuesday

Ten Thought Tuesday: Februrary 18th Edition

TTT

  1. Less than two weeks to Spring Break!  I.  Can’t.  Wait.
  2. For tonight’s supper, I’m hesitating between hot dogs, grilled cheese sandwiches and smoked meat sandwiches.  I know, I know, not the healthiest foods, but that’s what the little peanut has decided upon and let’s face it, who am I to argue with my hormones?
  3. Tomorrow I have to get my blood drawn.  Wish me luck!  The last time I ended up lying down on a bed with ice packs in various spots and a blood pressure cuff around my arm.  (Don’t worry, it won’t happen again.  I know that I need to be lying down when I visit the vampires… 😛 )
  4. I’m toying with the idea of leaving WordPress.  Ever since I’ve changed up my blog and put up the nifty “contact me” page, I’ve received quite a few advertisement proposals…which I’ve had to turn down because WordPress doesn’t allow third-party ads.  And since my premium account expires in about two months, I need to start thinking about what I want to do.
  5. I think I’ve found a good way to add proteins to my son’s breakfast (because lets face it, when I work, there is just no way I am going to start doing eggs for breakfast).  I found some hemp at Bulk Barn the other day (33g of protein per 100g!).  After using it in his cereal and smoothies for a couple of days, he hasn’t had any adverse reactions!  YAY!
  6. I think I might go back to the amusement center with Little Dude this weekend, unless we have an awesome weekend and can play outside.
  7. Speaking of Little Dude, he never ceases to amaze me.  He is now able to go down the stairs by himself (under strict surveillance) and he’s been wanting to help me dress him for the past week or so.  Crossing my fingers for this to continue ’cause dressing a screaming and squirming toddler is no easy task.
  8. I’m giving a presentation with a co-worker at one of the schools I work at this Friday on technological aids for students with learning disabilities.  I just need to work the bugs out of the PowerPoint presentation and I’m all set.
  9. By the way, does anyone have a good suggestion of a program that helps correct English (not just spelling/grammar errors, but sentence structures as well)?  The built-in corrector that comes with Word, just doesn’t cut it with my dyslexic ESL students.
  10. After being unsure about the Dexter series, I am now in love with it and glad I stuck with it!

How is your Tuesday going?

Author:

Thirty-something year old discovering the joys and bumps of motherhood.

9 thoughts on “Ten Thought Tuesday: Februrary 18th Edition

  1. 😮 you’re leaving WordPress. :/ not sure what to say about that. I’m not happy. I like catching up with you.
    Good luck with the blood work and presentation. No advice on the software sorry.
    Is your guy going down the stairs on his bottom? V has never mastered stairs. We don’t use the stairs in our hour is kinda like a duplex. We live on the top with little to no need for him to go down the concrete steps. Although he can walk down them holding your hand.

    1. I’m not sure whether I’m leaving or not 😉 I’m am looking into a domain name via WordPress.org. I’ll keep you guys up to date.

      The little guy is going down the stairs feet first on his belly (if that makes any sense) ’cause he’s not tall enough to walk down them even if he holds someone’s hand 😉

    1. It would be LOVELY if spring came in time for spring break. I don’t have much hope, but I do have some (in a far corner of my heart somewhere).

      Don’t worry, I’ll keep you guys posted on my decision with regards to WordPress.

  2. I’m wondering/thinking about WordPress.org as well. Only thing I don’t care for is the absense of back and forth commenting (and are there notifications??) Also, I have no idea how much it costs…it probably varies. 🙂 Have you looked into it much yet?
    Yay for extra protein! I just found some all natural whey protein (chocolate shake variety) last month at our vitamin shop! So happy! It’s 20 gr of protein per serving. 😀
    I love the learning stairs phase! I bet he’s super cute on his tummy!
    Good luck with the presentation and with getting your blood drawn. xoxo

    1. I haven’t looked into the .org too much yet. From what I can gather, the cost does vary, but I don’t know with regards to what exactly. When you thought of leaving WP, what other hosts did you look into?

      Yup, he is super cute going down on his tummy. The only problem (if we can even call it that) is that now that he knows he can go down the stairs on his own, he wants to do it all the time. He’ll start shaking the gate and get into a fit of anger when his father or I don’t come and open it for him. Urgh. Of course, that’s kind of cute too…in its own way…

      Thanks for the good luck wishes!

      1. I am actually switching to another blog in June. 😉 It’s through Blog.com and is still “hosted” but they allow monetizing (ads and affiliated links, etc), have faster image uploading than WP (.com) plus custom themes and domains, for one price (right around $100 per year). The customizations on my WP blog will be expiring in June anyway, so I am READY!! I’m working on all the planning and such, So fun! I’m not announcing it on my WP blog right now, but I will when it’s time to go. 🙂
        I’m still curious about WordPress.org (maybe one day I’ll be more tech savvy).

      2. Yeah, the only thing that turns me off about the .org is that it seems to require quite a bit of techy knowledge. On the one hand, I’m not sure I have that knowledge. On the other hand, even if I do, I’m not sure I have enough time to invest in setting up the blog if posting and everything else becomes complicated. I like the idea of one price for the whole year. The premium account I have costs 100$ so I think it’s a reasonable amount. Hum, perhaps I’ll copy you and look into Blog.com. Thanks for the heads up!

  3. Well, I spoke too soon (which always seems to happen!) and I think I *may* be staying with WP after all. I looked into the package deals here and found that I can get everything that blog.com has to offer, except for the monetizing possibility, for $79 instead of $100 per year. I really only wanted to do affiliated amazon links anyway (not interested in doing paid ads in my sidebar) so this might be perfect! I have time to decide so I’m still looking into everything. I was already customizing the other blog but I hadn’t made the big purchase yet. 🙂

Let me know what you think! Please?!?

