Posted in Blogging

Running On Empty

Fair warning: this is going to be me complaining.  I need to vent.

I’m sick and tired of being sick and tired.  You’ve probably noticed that I haven’t been around much lately, well there’s a reason for that.  You see, I’ve been sick…

…again…

Yeah!

Right now, I’m running on a total of 6h of sleep over the past 60h.  This is because two days ago, my son decided that sleeping was optional and got a total of 5h of broken sleep during the night.  Then, last night, when I should have been recuperating from the previous sleepless night, my body decided to throw me an ear infection.  The pain was so bad despite the acetaminophen that I was unable to sleep and I ended up with a perforated eardrum.

Sooooo, I’m on a nice cocktail of antibiotics and acetaminophen right now.  Too bad for wanting to avoid medication during my pregnancy.

Of course, that is this week.  Last week I got hit with an interesting gastroenteritis/flu combo which left me pretty much stuck to my bed and unable to eat for a few days.  I was really thankful that my little bro was around because he decided to accompany me to daycare to grab my son and then to the grocery to grab a few things for supper.  It was a good thing that he was with me because I was so conked out that when I left, I forgot to buckle up and I’d opened the trunk of the car without realizing.  Then, at the grocery store, I lost consciousness at the cash since I hadn’t been able to keep anything down.

It’s a good thing that I have my partner too as he’s been picking up the slack despite being sick himself and has been taking care both of the kiddo and the house.

Go back another week and I had to contend with a cold.  For those of you keeping track, that means that since the horrible month of November, I’ve had three colds, two flues, been stuck with gastroenteritis twice and am now dealing with an ear infection.  All of that in five months!

The worst part is that I have no more sick days left at any of my jobs (did I mention that I work four jobs over the course of six days including two evening shifts?) and you know what?  I.  Don’t.  Care.

I’m soooo over being sick.  I’m soooo over this unending winter.  I just want to fall asleep and wake up when my health is back 100% and I’m off work for summer holidays/maternity leave.

Ok, I’m done complaining now.

How have you all been?

 

Author:

Thirty-something year old discovering the joys and bumps of motherhood.

19 thoughts on “Running On Empty

  1. I think you deserve a break from all this being sick! I am SO sorry! You hang in there! One foot after another in this marathon. Sending you warm wishes, thoughts, and prayers. I’m afraid to say I feel better because as soon as I do, I have a bad day. But I know that I have nothing to compare to what you’ve gone through! Thinking of you.~~Terri

    1. Hehe, yeah, horrid is an excellent choice of words. I know that some people have it worse, but I was just so discouraged yesterday.

      Thanks for the virtual chicken soup! It smells good from here 😉

  2. Oh NOOOO! I am so sorry, especially on the ear infection. I remember that pain in the middle of the night ( I had multiple ear infections as a child), and it is TERRIBLE pain.
    I hope you are feeling better today. And that spring comes soon!!

Let me know what you think! Please?!?

