Posted in Blogging

Write For Me Wednesday: Post-Partum – What They Never Told Me

I’m super excited to be sharing a guest post from Sarah from Journey2dfuture.  Sarah blog focuses on her adventures as a mommy to her wonderful son Vinnie,  being a wife and the challenges of juggling all of this while living in a foreign country.  If you haven’t checked out her blog yet, I definitely suggest you go and take a peek.

Post-Partum – What They Never Told Me

I’d like to share with you all the thing’s people forgot to mention once you’ve had a baby.

I’m sure many of you can relate if you are a mother.

  • Firstly, immediately after the birth, that strange empty feeling you have in your tummy.  Your organs are still pushed way up into your ribcage and it all just feels a little weird.
  • That amount of swelling on and round your whoha! Really no-one warned me it would unrecognizable.
  • The sheer amount of blood. It just kept coming…I remember just sitting on the toilet waiting for the blood to stop pouring so I could semi wipe and pull my pants back up.
  • The stitches: This is your doctor’s way of giving your whoha a facelift. A facelift hurts and so does this.
  • Constipation and piles…These two things go hand in hand in my case. All the pushing from the birth gave me piles which made pooping 10 times worse. Which made my scared, which then made me constipated. See the vicious circle?
  • Milk: Got milk Mama? Yes thank you way too much, to the point I thought my breasts may explode. This is called engorgement. If you fail to do anything about this issue you’ll end up with what is known as a blocked milk duct. Now listen carefully, if you fail to do the dangle feed and look like a dog nursing her puppies and massage the crap out of your already inflamed breast, you’ll end up with something called mastitis. This is serious.  Deal with it.
  • Your pelvis: If you thought walking while 9 months pregnant with a bowling ball between your legs was hard then just imagine this: As you give birth, your pelvis opens up even more than it already has to accommodate the bowling ball’s passing.  This separation of the pelvis hurts.  It hurts for a long time after.  Just because you gave birth overnight doesn’t mean you’ll have your body and bones back overnight.  18 months on since I gave birth and I still have pain in the pelvis and hip joints.  I wish someone had warned me.  I wish there was something I could do about the pain.
  • Sex: Planning to have sex after you give birth? All I can say is good luck. I waited 9 weeks. Yes Nine whole weeks before even attempting.  With my stitches, prolonged bleeding and pelvis pain it hurt.  Even if it didn’t hurt I still said it did.  I have been scared for life after what came out my vagina.  The thought of possible getting pregnant again and having to give birth, I’d rather cut out the sex and know for sure I won’t have to go through this again any time soon.
  • So now that you are possibly three month post post-partum, the fun doesn’t stop there.  It won’t be until around this time that your hair will start to fall out.  It’s the one last surprise to remind you not to get pregnant too soon.  After all you need time to grow yours back before it falls out again after the next baby right?

So this my friend sums up all of the things I wish I had been warned about.

Thanks Sarah for contributing with this funny yet memory-filled post!

If other awesome bloggers like Sarah would like to guest post on mommytrainingwheels, just shoot me a message through my contact page!

 

Author:

Thirty-something year old discovering the joys and bumps of motherhood.

8 thoughts on “Write For Me Wednesday: Post-Partum – What They Never Told Me

    1. I’d LOVE if you guest posted for me. I absolutely love your posts. Everything regarding the way you raise your kids to how to manage a household whilst working full-time. I am super impressed by your organization. You always seem to be on top of things :). If you get inspired, just shoot me an email 😉

Let me know what you think! Please?!?

