Posted in Parenting

The Babies ‘R Us 3-In-1 Potty Chair: First Impressions

*Disclaimer: This is not a paid endorsement of a product.  It is just my honest opinion on a product that I recently bought*

So, I finally took the plunge and bought a potty for my son.  After a couple of hours of online shopping and review reading (no joke!), I finally settled on the Babies ‘R Us 3-In-1 Potty Chair.

There it is!
There it is!

It hasn’t had much use yet, but so far there are quite a few things that I like about it.

Pros

1.  It’s compact and can likely fit in a small sized washroom.

Nicely sized.
Nicely sized.

2.  It’s gender neutral: grey, white and lime green.

3.  It is 3-in-1, meaning that it can serve as a potty seat, as a training seat and as a step stool.

You've already seen the potty seat.  Here's the training seat and step stool.
You’ve already seen the potty seat. Here’s the training seat and step stool.

4.  It only has four pieces to it and is easy to assemble and disassemble.

P1000191

5.  There is a built-in urine shield (as opposed to a removable one as I saw on a few of the potty seats I looked at today).

6.  The lime green part is a foam cushion which gives me the impression that it will be more comfortable to sit on.

7.  It doesn’t have any bells or whistles.  No lights, no sounds, no batteries.

8.  There aren’t any textured parts or crevices, which means that it will likely be easy to clean.

9.  At 20$, it’s a great value – especially when you don’t really know what you’re getting into with regards to potty training.

Of course, for all its positive points, there are also aspects that I don’t like as much.

Cons

1.  It is easy to take apart.  Maybe a little too easy.  The lime green foam part in particular is very attractive and is one of the first things that my son grabbed.  He then proceeded to make a necklace out of it and parade around the house with his new find (which is cute because it hasn’t come into contact with any waste yet, but…).

2.  The step stool seems a little unsteady to me.  Though it does have grips on the bottom to avoid that it slips, there is no base that attaches to it so I find it lacks stability.

3.  Because the base is the same size as the top (as opposed to the base being a little larger than the top part), it can be unsteady for a newbie toddler trying to get on by himself as best he can.

What my son thinks of it

Little Dude was positively beaming when I sat him on his potty (fully clothed) the first time.  He then spent the rest of the evening either carrying his new seat around, trying to sit on it by himself, or using the foam part as a necklace.  When he signed that he was done with his bath, he enthusiastically pointed to the potty and so I sat him on it asking him if he needed to go pee-pee.  Though he didn’t pee, he happily stayed on it for a minute and then got up.  I put a diaper on him and then he spent the next 5 minutes getting on (or trying to) and off his potty.

So far, everything looks positive.  Little Dude likes it and though he has no conception of what it’s used for yet, he’s interested in sitting on it.  Onwards we go!

Rating

I’d give it 4 out of 5 stars for now.  I’ll update as it gets more use.

What did you use for potty training?

Author:

Thirty-something year old discovering the joys and bumps of motherhood.

17 thoughts on “The Babies ‘R Us 3-In-1 Potty Chair: First Impressions

      1. Thanks – I have been making the potty and option, but right now she just likes being the boss about when her diaper gets changed, when she runs around with no diaper, and when she keeps the dirty diaper on – it is actually pretty funny.

  1. Wow, I like that it can be a potty chair or a seat for the toilet! Ours is very easy to assemble (and dissemble) too. Samuel can EASILY take it apart…*sigh* 😉
    Good luck!

    1. Yeah, I was really happy when I saw the 3-in-1 options (and when I saw that this one in particular didn’t have any lights or sounds!).

      Hehe, from the comments I read while shopping for a potty, I gathered that any potty that had more than one part would be taken apart by the child. Kids will be kids!

  2. I have a feeling we may end up doing this potty training jig at the same time.
    We decided against a potty all together and simply went with the toilet seat. No transition needed.
    Vinnie at 19 months only poops on the toilet. I think when the weather is a little warm we will aim for catching pee too. I’m hoping it’s going to be easier than I expect.
    I do love this potty though! 🙂

    1. It’s cool that you were able to go to the toilet seat from the getgo. Charles is afraid of sitting on the toilet even with the seats closed and everything so I opted for a potty chair at first. I suppose we’ll see how the transition goes later on (he first has to figure out what the potty is used for in the first place lol!).

      When did you start putting Vinnie on the toilet for his poops? It’s great that you’re able to catch them all there.

      I’m eager for the weather to warm up too. When I’ll be off this summer, I’ll likely buy some cute briefs for the little guy and see how things go.

  3. I originally bought the ones that you can take apart and put on the toilet… turned out I ended up spending more money and having to buy a new seat to put on the toilet otherwise Alex wouldn’t use the toilet. I do like the potty though, the colors are super cute!
    Good luck with potty training! It was a long process for us with Alex, but when he was 100% ready, he was trained instantly!

    1. It’s funny that Alex didn’t want to use the toilet when you used the ring from the potty.

      I’m in no rush to have Charles fully trained, so I’m not worried about it taking time right now. Thanks for the good luck wishes! 😉

  4. Oh, that’s funny to think about him dis-assembling the toilet and playing with the parts. Mine always carried the toilet around the house. Okay when it’s new; not okay after use! Ha! Ha! The toilet actually looks pretty useful with a stool and the fact that it can be an insert or a potty chair!

  5. I put his potty out at 17 months and let him sit on it while he watched me pee. After I noticed he was peeing in the tub, I know it was time! He peed in the potty for a year and a half before he’d poop!! Then, on his 3rd birthday, I offered him a toy he really wanted for when he pooped in the potty. He said, “I do it now, mama,” and he did! We have the 2 piece baby Bjorn potty. It is great. Yours looks much cooler!!

    1. Thanks for sharing your experience! We still haven’t caught any pee yet, but I figure it’ll happen eventually. It’s awesome that your little guy decided that he wanted the toy more than he wanted to not poop in his potty. I actually looked into the baby Bjorn potties and the comments all tended to say that they were great, but made for little bums. It’s good to know that you were able to get quite a bit of use out of yours.

Let me know what you think! Please?!?

