Posted in Parenting, Toddler

Rosy Cheeks

Today was an awesome day!

Since it was a holiday, I was off work (yay!) and it was a beautiful day.  Sunny, hot (but not too hot).  Perfection.  Needless to say, the little guy was thrilled.

You see, he absolutely loves to play outside.  Now that he’s understood that outdoors = fun (because it was kind of hard for him with all the snow this past winter) he wants to go out all the time.  Seriously.  Yesterday morning, he was up at 6:15 am and was asking to go out 15 minutes later.  Dude, let mama wake up, will ya!

Today was no different and he spent loads of time outdoors.  After getting up, we had some breakfast.  Then I got him dressed and we walked his dad to work.  He started getting tired when we were almost home (as the trip to work and back is a little over one kilometer), but he immediately forgot his fatigue when we turned onto our street and he saw the park.

Oh boy, he was excited!  He practically ran to the park and we spent quite some time there on the swings.  Then, he decided to go down the slides over and over and over again.  He wasn’t super pleased when I coaxed him back towards the house, but he didn’t make a big deal over it so it was all good.

Once we were back in the house, he helped me with the laundry (he especially loved handing me the clothes to hang on the clothesline ’cause that meant we were back outside 😉 ) and I phoned my parents to ask them if they wanted to go have a picnic and take a walk with Little Dude and myself.  They, of course, agreed.  I mean seriously, who can resist spending some time with Mr. Cuteness?

Incidentally, it's getting really hard to take pictures of my boy.  As soon as he sees a camera, he comes in as close as possible to try to grab it.
Incidentally, it’s getting really hard to take pictures of my boy. As soon as he sees a camera, he comes in as close as possible to try to grab it.

We ended up going back to the Ecomuseum and, after having some lunch, got to see some of his favourite animals (namely, the turkeys).  Once again, he walked almost the whole way despite the fact that we had already passed his nap time.  He was tired, but also wildly happy about observing everything around him which meant that he wasn’t cranky.

Quite predictably, Charles fell asleep in the car and wasn’t very pleased with me when I changed his extremely wet diaper (the little guy drinks so much when it’s hot out and our bamboo inserts just aren’t cutting it), but went down for his belated nap happily.

I woke him after two hours and off we went again to get daddy from his workplace.  This time, though, I brought the stroller along and Little Dude was grateful for the ride.  We stayed outside when we got home and helped the dada start setting things up in the yard.  Charles and I cleaned the patio set while we let his father do the heavy lifting.

Of course, every good thing must come to an end and though we had spent some (read: a LOT of hours of) good time outside, it was time to get in, have supper and get the bedtime routine rolling.

This is how happy my son was with me when I brought him back inside.

P1000314
But why can’t we stay outside just a little while longer?

He did end up calming down when I took out the DS for him to play with and he ate like an ogre at supper.  And now, after chattering a storm in his crib for the last hour, he’s finally asleep.

Author:

Thirty-something year old discovering the joys and bumps of motherhood.

10 thoughts on “Rosy Cheeks

  1. He and Samuel would get along so well! He loves being outside ANY chance he gets! 😀
    Glad you had such a lovely day – I’m betting you both sleep well tonight. 😉

  2. Sounds like you had a great day. The weather here has been fab too! We spend a little over 3 hours outside yesterday between nap time, breakfast, lunch and supper. V loves to be outside too. Or at least in till he falls over and cuts his knees open.

  3. It is hard to take their photos, isn’t it, at that stage? Actually, my 5 year old still “wants to see” and comes too close! He’s awful cute! Outside is such a great place to be right now! Yeah! I’m with him there at the end!

Let me know what you think! Please?!?

