Posted in Parenting

Write for me Wednesday – Chelsea’s Homebirth Experience

Soon after posting that I was looking for different childbirth stories, I received an email from Chelsea who was kind enough to share her wonderful homebirth experience.  This is the story of her son’s birth.

***

I always knew that I wanted to have my child at home. I wanted the quiet peaceful atmosphere that a hospital just can’t achieve.

My husband was agreeable with this choice mostly for the cost difference. After doing some research we discovered that paying for a home birth with a midwife out of pocket is the same as the insurance deductible for the hospital delivery (not including the charge for the newborn stay after delivery). That same cost with the midwives also included all prenatal and post natal visits, so it was definitely more cost efficient.

We took some birthing classes as well. I decided on the Bradley Method which teaches husband coached childbirth. There were very insightful things that we learned in the classes and some things that we have decided after the birth were not as necessary as the teacher made us think.  I loved having my husband actively involved in the birth and that made the biggest difference to me.

So when the big day came we were very calm. I had started some contractions the night before but they came and went and I was able to sleep through the night. The next day started our sporadic as well but by the afternoon they were getting closer together. We went shopping and then out to lunch. By now the contractions were getting strong but we started timing them and they would be anywhere from 30 seconds to 4 minutes apart and 30 seconds to 2 minutes long. They just weren’t regular like we were taught to watch for as the beginning of hard labor. So we decided to go see a movie.

During the movie my husband timed the contractions on his phone by using the stopwatch feature every time I squeezed his hand. Still, the contractions didn’t regulate.
After the movie, we went home and by then the intensity had kicked up a bit.

We did some walking around the house until I got to the point where I could not stand up during the contractions anymore. At this point, I just wanted to curl up in the fetal position when they hit, so Kirk called the midwife and my mother and they were all on the way.

When the midwife arrived she checked me and I was already dilated to an 8 so we started to get things set up. They got the water tub ready for me and I climbed in. I really enjoyed the warm water but when the pain hit all I could pay attention to was my husband’s hand in mine until it was over. I got really tired and then I started pushing and a few minutes of that made my water break.

I started out timid with the pushing because I didn’t want to poop in front of people but now I realize that I would have had a shorter labor if I just pushed with all my might from the beginning and not cared about that. I pushed for a long time and during that time I moved around a lot. I got out of the water and pushed while squatting and then assisted squatting and finally in a 45 degree sit with my knees pushed to my chest.

The midwife told me that she thought I would need an episiotomy and I really didn’t want one so she let me try one more push and that last one did the trick. My little boy’s head was free and he came right out.

They put him right onto my chest and I held him. He had a short umbilical cord so they had me cough and the placenta delivered. I didn’t even have to push for that. After the umbilical cord stopped pulsing, my husband cut the cord. They moved me into my bed, wrapped my son up and handed him right back to me so I could get him to nurse. He did latch on after a few minutes but didn’t nurse much until later.

The midwives gave us about 45 minutes alone (me, my husband and our son) to bond as a family. During this time they cleaned up everything, even took out the garbage. Then they came in and weighed and measured the baby and did the newborn exam.

I was so happy to be at home in my own bed. My husband holding my hand the whole time. It was a great birthing experience and we plan on keeping with the same plan with our next child.

Chelsea
Age 34, mother of one little boy. Born 7 lbs 3 oz after 2 hours and 45 minutes of pushing. 😊

***

Thank you so much for sharing your birth story with us, Chelsea!

Anyone else up to sharing?

Author:

Thirty-something year old discovering the joys and bumps of motherhood.

2 thoughts on “Write for me Wednesday – Chelsea’s Homebirth Experience

Let me know what you think! Please?!?

