Posted in Parenting

TGFBW

TGFBW. 

Or, for those of you who aren’t well-versed in made-up acronyms:

Thank Goodness For BabyWearing.

Yep!

You see, yesterday evening, my partner had some training for his job.  This meant that I would be home alone with the two kiddos.  No big deal, right?  I mean, I’ve been alone with the two of them during the day for a few hours at a time, so it’s not like it was mission impossible.

So off I went, at 4pm, daughter in tow in her car seat to fetch my son at daycare.  An hour later (yes, my daycare is far away), I was back home.  I had planned on making some nice pan fried sole with some rice and steamed veggies for supper.  The problem is that when I got home, both the baby and the toddler were hungry.  Luckily, I had made some banana muffins earlier during the day, so I gave the little guy a mini muffin and set him up in front of some Baby Einstein as I nursed Amélie.

Once baby girl was fed, I put her in her basket and started to get everything out to make supper.  The thing is, by then it was already half past 5 and I knew I wouldn’t have the time to get everything done by 6pm.  The little guy was tiring of Baby Einstein, the newborn was resolutely not sleeping and I was getting hungry (and we all know what happens when the mama is hungry, right?!).  I decided to heat up some of the previous evening’s supper (macaroni & ground beef in a tomato sauce) in a pan and stick some homemade chicken nuggets in the oven.  I then cut up a red bell pepper into strips for good measure (’cause we all need our veggies, right?).

As my son and I sat down to eat our very healthy and well-balanced on-the-fly meal, the baby (or “that”, as my son like to affectionately call her) decided she wasn’t content to look at the sides of her basket anymore and became vocal about it.  Then again, who can blame her?  I mean, I’m pretty sure that just like her brother did at the same age, she thinks the collection of brown polka-dots are nipples and wonders why the heck she can’t get any milk out of them.

I finished my supper with baby girl in my arms.

Everything was looking great.  Then it dawned on me that I had to get my son ready for bed.  That meant, bath-taking, antibiotic-taking, teeth brushing, diaper changing, getting into pyjamas…and I had a newborn that was acting as though she hadn’t eaten in years.  Oy!

And then, ding, light bulb moment! 💡

I grabbed my ring sling, popped my breast out and positioned baby girl so that I could nurse her hands-free.  I decided to forsake the bath as the toddler let me know very clearly that he did not want to go and I very clearly did not want to create a tantrum (you pick your battles, eh!?).  Miraculously, I managed to get everything else done without a hitch in time for Little Dude’s 7pm bedtime!

The best part about all of this?  Amélie fell asleep in the sling as I was getting her brother ready for bed.

YES!

Author:

Thirty-something year old discovering the joys and bumps of motherhood.

6 thoughts on “TGFBW

  1. Hilarious. What a funny read for my morning coffee! Hope there aren’t too many more of those nights in your near future. If so, thank God there’s slings and carriers!

    1. Yeah, both my kids have gone through the polka dot factory and have come out profoundly frustrated. Which begs the question: why put a brown polka dot print inside a baby basket?

      I’m glad I had that light bulb moment: I think that babywearing skills should be essential when you have young kiddos.

Let me know what you think! Please?!?

