Posted in More Than A Mom

Feeling Fallspiried

Though I am a rather artsy person, I’ve never been one to decorate my home.  I’ve just never found an interest in it…until recently.

Now, I don’t know if it’s because Fall has settled early here (some may say way too early, but hey, I won’t complain as I love the season), because I’m on maternity leave and need to feel as though I am more than an all-you-can-eat milk bar or if it’s the hormones, but I decided that I wanted to decorate the house a bit for Fall this time around.

I first ventured downstairs to rescue some art supplies and different sized mason jars (left over from the previous owners) from the abyss that is the cupboard under the stairs.

Sorry Harry, there ain't no room for you here.
Sorry Harry, there ain’t no room for you here.

Then, I gathered my stained-glass paint and painted my canning jars red, orange and yellow.

Initially, I was planning on adding a bit of pzazz to them, but I’m actually really pleased with the result and decided to keep them like this.

While the jars were drying, I decided to go out and fetch two missing ingredients to complete my Fall dining room decor: a burlap table runner (I’ve been wanting one of these suckers forever) and some pumpkin spice scented candles.

To my amazement, I found both!

There’s just one slight problem: the burlap runner is too long (we’re talking 10 feet long!).  I need to cut it and find a way to make sure the edges don’t fray.  I’m too lazy to get the sewing machine out from under the stairs and figure out how it works, so sewing is out of the question.  Perhaps a diluted solution of glue and water would work.  Or…maybe some no-sew glue or clear nail polish… Hum, it’s long enough that I can run a few tests before cutting it to the desired size, but if anyone has any suggestions, I’d love to hear them!

I guess you will have to wait until I’ve figured out how to manage my table runner before seeing the final result!  😛

What’s your favourite season?  Have you been inspired by Fall?

Author:

Thirty-something year old discovering the joys and bumps of motherhood.

7 thoughts on “Feeling Fallspiried

  1. Double sided tape, double sided carpet tape (to stick the carpet edges to the floor) or double sided iron-on fusible interfacing which would be your best option, I think. You can find that in a craft or sewing store and it comes in different weights – just be sure to get the double sided kind.

  2. If I had that burlap, I’d be asking myself the same thing. Then I’d ask myself the fastest thing. Which would be frayed edges on both ends. I probably then wouldn’t like it but have no time to change it! Can’t believe you scored on finding both candles and the burlap! My kids keep wanting to decorate for fall, but I’m finding I’d better pace myself if I want to decorate for Christmas! Jars are beautiful!!!

Let me know what you think! Please?!?

