Posted in Parenting

How To Give Your Toddler Biaxin

P1010216

So after waiting 3h at the walk-in clinic yesterday, we got the confirmation that Charles has yet another ear infection.  Given the unpleasant (to say the least) reaction he had after taking Amoxcillin last time, the doctor prescribed some Biaxin.  She also mentioned, almost offhandedly, that it didn’t taste quite as good as the banana-flavoured penicillin antibiotic that kids love so much.

‘No biggie’, I thought, Charles is quite good with taking medication.

Then I went to the pharmacy where, after explaining the basics on the medication (how to measure and administer & common side-effects), the pharmacist asked if my son liked yogurt.

“He’s allergic to dairy”, I replied.

“Oh…well…you might want to have a glass of juice ready for him after giving him the Biaxin, it has a slightly metallic aftertaste”, he said.

The comment brought in mind a conversation that I’d had with my little brother a couple of months ago when a pharmacist had told him the same thing about the antibiotic he was taking – that it had a slightly metallic taste to it.  My (grown) little brother had grimaced after swallowing his pill and exclaimed that to say that the metallic taste was slight was a BIG understatement.

I hoped that Charles’ experience with the medication wouldn’t be as bad as my brother’s was as it is rather difficult to reason with a 2 year old.

That evening, after supper, he had his first dose.  He kept it in his mouth for a while, wondering whether he should spit it out or swallow it eventually settling on the latter.  I filled up his glass with juice (hey, it’s as good a reward as any!) and he downed it.

This morning, I was ready with a glass of coconut milk for him to give him his second dose.  I measured the prescribed amount and gave it to him.  He again kept it in his mouth for a while and managed to swallow a little bit before spitting the rest out on me…and I’m pretty sure I know why.

You see, though it may taste awful, it also has an equally awful texture WHICH NO ONE WARNED ME ABOUT!.  Fill a bottle with one third sand and two thirds water, give it a shake and that’s the texture of the metallic tasting medication I have to give my son for seven days.

Lovely…

So I managed to mix a little bit more in his glass of coconut milk (which he downed!) and that was the end of the second dose.

This evening was dose three.  I skipped the syringe in the mouth and just put the Biaxin in his milk without him seeing me.  Well, I’m pretty sure he noticed that something was up because it took him fooooooorever to finish his darned milk.  I had to semi-bribe him to get him to drink up (oh, look Charles, why don’t you show your little sister how to drink out of a straw?).

I’m thinking that tomorrow morning, I’m going to try to hide the stuff in his most favouritest (soy) yogurt and see how it goes.

At this pace, though, I’m thinking that he’s going to catch on quickly so I’m going to need to find new and creative ways to feed him his damned antibiotics. We’ve got 11 doses left…

*Sigh*

Does anyone have any ideas?  Do any of you have any experience with trying to give Biaxin to a toddler?  Please share your strategies!

Author:

Thirty-something year old discovering the joys and bumps of motherhood.

12 thoughts on “How To Give Your Toddler Biaxin

  1. Euhh! moi je crois me rappeler que sa Tatie Mélanie avais aussi des drôle de réations au moment de prendre des médications. Soit patiente ,ça va passer 😀

    xxx

    1. Cette Tatie a d’ailleurs encore de la difficulté à prendre des médicaments. Je sais bien qu’on va y arriver, mais ça serait le fun qu’ils ne prescrivent pas un médicament dégeulasse avec une mauvaise texture à un enfant. Que veux-tu, la mère poule en moi sort 😉

  2. Bonne chance chère Sophie! Que ça me rappelle des souvenirs!!! Nous avions varié les aliments dans lesquels on les mettait… poudding, yogourt, gruau avec sirop d’érable, pablum sucré… Ce n’était pas simple car elle finissait par y goûter quand même… mais Charles adore manger alors ça sera peut-être plus simple:)

Let me know what you think! Please?!?

