Posted in Parenting

Putting the “A” in E.A.S.Y. : Activity Ideas For Newborns (0 to 3 months)

I remember when I first read about EASY about the time when my son was 6 weeks old, I fell in love with the idea.  I am a creature of habit and do well in a routine so it just seemed natural to get my son into a routine.

I got that under the age of 4 months, we were aiming to feed about every 3 hours and that the awake time that the baby could handle (awake time = from the time they wake up to the time they are back asleep) became greater as the baby got older (for instance, a two week old baby can maybe handle 45 minutes of awake time whereas a 3 month old can stay awake for twice that amount of time).

The one thing I was rather uninspired about is what kind of activities I could do with my newborn.  I mean, they’re tiny and can’t do much.

It turns out, “A” time doesn’t have to be complicated.  (Side note: “A” time only happens during the day).

After burping and changing my baby’s diaper, here are a few of the activities that you can do with a newborn baby:

  • Get her down for some tummy time (try different techniques if your baby hates it – heck, try them even if your baby doesn’t hate it 😉 )
  • Stick out your tongue and make different sounds with your mouth (a “pop” with your lips, clicking your tongue…)
  • Put baby in his gym (like this cool piano gym)
  • Let baby look at herself in the mirror
  • Give him a bath (I do this during the lase “A” time before bed)
  • Sing songs with movements like “the itsy bitsy spider” and “this little piggy”
  • Show her some simple black and white patterns like these
  • Put him under a mobile
  • Give her a massage
  • “Bicycle” his legs
  • Use sensory toys on her like this vibrating dragon, these spiky balls or this musical turtle.
  • Attach a wrist rattle to his wrist
  • Hang a toy over her within reach and encourage her to reach and grab hold of some of the dangling toys (I use this cute elephant)
  • Just talk to him
  • Let her chill out on his/her back on a blanket on the floor or in a high chair/swing… as you take care of things in the house

What are some of the things you do with your 0-3 month old?

Author:

Thirty-something year old discovering the joys and bumps of motherhood.

4 thoughts on “Putting the “A” in E.A.S.Y. : Activity Ideas For Newborns (0 to 3 months)

  1. This was a tough time for me. My daughter was very colicky so unfortunately most things didn’t work for her. I was always searching for things to do with her at that age. I could have used this then. Lol! This is a great list.

Let me know what you think! Please?!?

