Posted in potty training

The Potty Training Chronicles – Day 1

PT Chronicles finalWe finally started potty training today!  I have to admit, I was both excited and unreasonably frighted to start, but hey, I had to get things going eventually.  We actually had a pretty good day.

As soon as Charles got home from swimming lessons, I got really excited and showed him his potty.  We started by getting it out of the box and getting it set up with the 3 AA batteries that are required for the headache-inducing songs to play (but my toddler loves them so, meh, small price to pay).  The potty got him really excited.  Then, I managed to bribe him into taking his pants and diaper off and in exchange he got to pick a pair of really cool boxers to wear.  After repeating that now, he was going to pee in the potty like a big boy, he was allowed to go on with his business.

After about 10 minutes, I checked him.  His boxers were wet.  “Oh look, Charles, your boxers are wet, you peed in them”, I said in a cheery voice.  “Don’t worry, let’s get them off.  Remember, pee goes in the potty.  How ’bout you go sit on your potty and mommy will give you a marshmallow”.

I did not put another fresh pair of boxers on after that.  (Yep, the little guy went around the house with naught but a shirt on for the rest of the day)

After that, we had a few accidents.  He wasn’t used to monitoring his need to pee or announce it as he’s never had to.  We always got him on his potty as soon as we could and cleaned up, never making a big deal out of accidents.

Eventually, though, a positive accident happened.  He was sitting on his potty watching some Youtube videos (hey, why sit on the sofa when you can sit on a singing potty instead, right?) and I heard the darned thing congratulate him.  He just kept sitting there as though nothing had happened.

Well I got excited.  I paused his video, got him off the potty and showed him what was inside.  Then, we started a routing of emptying in the toilet, wiping, flushing, washing hands and putting a sticker on his chart (no marshmallows needed!).  The second pee we caught happened the same way, by accident.

After that, he started announcing that he was peeing while in the act.  Now that was progress!  We were even able to get him to finish peeing in the potty once he had started on the floor.  Eventually, he started asking either his father or I to put our computer in front of the potty.  He would then sit down and a minute or two after, we would hear his potty congratulate him.  By then though, he didn’t need his potty to tell him that he had gone; he would stand up and announce his success.

I was thrilled to see how far he’d gone in one day, but that would not be the end of the progress.  By the end of the day, Charles was announcing that he had to go pee before going.

Then, before supper, he talked about needing to go #2.  I got him on the washroom toilet and we sat there together chatting.  At one point, he asked for a diaper.  But I repeated that diapers were just for bedtime.  He eventually got off the toilet, had supper and then took his bath without going.  After that, I got him in a diaper and we did his bedtime routine.  I’m pretty sure I’m going to find him in a dirty diaper tomorrow morning (which is why I put on a nice coat of cream on his bum first), but I’m ok with that.  We’ll take this potty training thing one step at a time.

Tally of the day:

P1010286

7 pees caught.  I’m thinking that’s pretty good.

Was it longer for your kids to learn to use the potty for bowel movements?  Do you have any winning strategies (besides patience) to help a toddler along?

Author:

Thirty-something year old discovering the joys and bumps of motherhood.

13 thoughts on “The Potty Training Chronicles – Day 1

  1. Wow! Des petits pots qui parlent et qui chantent!!! On aura tout vu:)Félicitations Charles pour cette première journée… et les parents!!! Je ne me souvients pas si le #2 était plus facile ou non… seulement que chaque enfant est différent quand vient le temps de les rendre propre… Patience… Bisous xoxoxo

  2. I wish you the best of luck. We’ve been potty training for what feels like a year now. Our 3 year old has had so many transitions at once, i think it stunned her progress. Shes finally making gains. Good luck.

    1. Thanks for the good luck wishes.

      It’s hard on them when too many things happen in a short period of time. It’s great to know that she’s making gains. I hope you get out of potty training in the near future.

      Wishing you a Merry Christmas!

  3. Wow! That was progress for a day! Awesome! All I know is, for me, potty training was easier with each child. We employed, like you, the no-diaper technique. A few accidents, but it seemed to work for us. Oh, I hope he progresses more and more!

    1. Progressed he has! I am absolutely amazed. On day 4, we had only 1 accident, only a few potty trips AND a dry nap as an added bonus.

      No-diaper has worked wonderfully for us so far.

      If potty training got easier with each kiddo, then little miss #4 should be a breeze!

      Merry Christmas!

  4. We just got Thor his potty a couple of days ago, but haven’t really started working on it yet. I think we are going to wait until he is communicating a little better. He goes through stages where he doesn’t want to talk, even though he understands the words. We’ve already had him evaluated, and they are fairly sure there isn’t anything “wrong” with him, but they are letting him have an in-home teacher once a week anyway to see if they can help him with the speech issues. He still wants to communicate non-verbally with his hands, and I wonder if my husband being deaf doesn’t have a lot to do with it.

    1. We started out slowly. I was worried about pushing him at first because he didn’t have words for pee or poop yet, so I totally understand that you want to wait until Thor communicates better. It’s nice to know that his language evaluation came out all right.

      I think that your husband being deaf has a lot to do with Thor’s phases of verbal/non-verbal communication. Research shows that bilingual children sort out their communication later than unilingual children and since Thor is exposed both to verbal English and singing, then it’s as though he’s juggling with two languages too.

      Hope you have a Merry Christmas!

Let me know what you think! Please?!?

