Posted in Blogging

YES!!!!

Today’s run has been at the back of my mind since I first started the Couch to 5k running program.  Before today, you always alternate between running and recovery periods.  Before today, the longest consecutive minutes of running I had ever done were 8 minutes…two days ago.  Before that, the longest consecutive minutes of running I had ever done were 7 minutes…back in 1999 when I first participated in a 5k run at school.

I’m sure you understand that when I saw that the Week 5, day 3 program was to run 20 minutes without any recovery time I thought there was a mistake.  Upon consulting Dr. Google, I realized that 20 straight minutes was indeed the program and I almost gave up, right then and there.

But I kept at my training.  Week after week, running got easier.  I came to a point where I told myself that I would be able to do 20 minutes of running eventually.  But you know what?  I did it!  On my first try!  I just got back.  Today, I was able to run 20 minutes without even feeling the need to slow down.

All I can say is: YES!!!

Author:

Thirty-something year old discovering the joys and bumps of motherhood.

7 thoughts on “YES!!!!

  1. Well done!!!! I’ve just recently completed that app program too! I would never have thought I could run for the 35mins at the end! It’s a big accomplishment 😀👍🏻

      1. I think the jump from 10 to 15 mins or 15 to 20 mins. Mind you those early days of 2 or 3 minutes were torture in themselves…I just got better at it!!

  2. Yay!! That’s awesome. There’s a girl in my run group who just ran a full mile for the first time without stopping to rest. It made me so happy to hear that!!! I imagine it makes you both feel 10 times how I feel watching you. Congrats to you!!

Let me know what you think! Please?!?

