Posted in Ten Thought Tuesday

Ten Thought Tuesday: June 23rd 2015

TTT1.  Next year, I’m set to teach English, Science and Phys. Ed. on top of teaching resource.  I’m planning on picking up the books they are going to use at school next year so that I can take advantage of the summer to do some lesson planning.

2.  This morning, Charles came “jogging” with me.  Basically, he sat in the double Chariot carrier that a colleague gave me last year as I pushed him.

3.  I realized that it was much harder to run while pushing a chatty 2.5 year old than it is to run alone.

4.  One of Amélie’s bottom first molars has cut (because, you know, who wants to follow a teething timeline when you can just get them all in quickly).  This time around, I’ve been using Camilia (a homeopathic medicine) instead of Advil or Tylenol for dealing with the pain at night.  I never thought I’d say this, but this stuff is working wonders so far!

5.  I ordered my very first pair of Soft Star shoes, well sandals actually.  These cute sandals for Charles should be in any day now.

6.  I’m planning on making a weighted blanket for Charles to help him to calm down and actually sleep during nap time (because he definitely still needs a nap).  I just have to figure out how to thread the old sewing machine that I have downstairs.

7.  I’m planning on starting a series of recipe posts soon and I’m going to need your help to write them.  Look for more details in the days to come.

8.  It hasn’t been warm enough for us to be able to use our pool yet, but we’re getting there!

9.  Now that Amélie’s seriously cruising, I’m thinking she’ll be walking before her first birthday.  She’s just so intent on following her big brother everywhere (much to his chagrin sometimes).

10.  Tomorrow’s a statutory holiday for Québec, which means that the dada will be at home.  We’ll likely go to the Ecomuseum in the morning with the kiddos and then go to his parents’ place.

Author:

Thirty-something year old discovering the joys and bumps of motherhood.

10 thoughts on “Ten Thought Tuesday: June 23rd 2015

  1. Glad to hear the remedy is working for teething pain! Ooh, weighted blankets are so neat. I had plans to make one for Samuel but haven’t gotten around to it. I really do think they can be such a help to calm us! I’d love to own one myself but I believe I’ll be buying one instead of making it. 😉

    1. It’s actually Charles’ sitter who suggested the blanket. Have you used a weighted blanket before? I saw a few on Etsy and others online. I figured it would cost me less to make it than to buy it because of the shipping I wouldn’t have to pay.

      1. No, I haven’t used one but I’ve read a lot about the benefits, especially for kids (and adults) with sensory processing disorder, anxiety, and ADHD (probably others as well!). I went back and looked for an old post by a friend of mine, and surprisingly I found it! https://pokedpotato.wordpress.com/2012/12/31/tiggers-and-tractors/ She talks about using weighted blankets with her sons and shares a tutorial (because she made one herself!) Her sons are adorable, btw. 😀

      2. Oh! Thanks for the link. I will definitely take a look at it. Yeah, I’ve known about weighted blankets for a while now. Especially for kids on the spectrum and those with ADHD. But until my son’s sitter mentioned it, I’d never thought of using one with Charles.

      3. I wish I’d known about them with Joshua; he has a strong need for physical stimulation and I’m sure it would have been beneficial to him. Heck, he might still benefit from one! Of course, they aren’t cheap…. :/

    1. We just bought a solar blanket (not sure if that’s what it’s called in English, but I’m sure you get the picture) that we’ll be able to put on our pool to keep the heat in during the nights and warm the water up during the days when we’re not in it. I’m hopeful that we’ll be able to swim soon because of it.

Let me know what you think! Please?!?

