Posted in Projects

Getting (Re)hooked

A couple of years ago, I started to learn crochet.  And once I got the “hook: of it (because, yes, there was a lot of cussing and starting over…and over…and over, at first), I loved it.  I mostly stuck with simple stuff like scarves, dishcloths and beanies, but I enjoyed it.

Then, last Christmas came along and  I spent an insane amount of time crocheting.  I was really happy with the way everything came out, but since I had gone crazy with it, by the time I was done, I was done.

But recently, I decided it was time to get my yarn and hooks out again.  Since it’s getting chilly (and I have a nice sample of different colours from past projects), I settled on a poncho for my 2 year old.  I found a graphic pattern here (which I had to learn to read, because I only knew how to read written patterns) and got to work.  It took a bit of finnicking before I could figure out how to join and start a new row correctly, but in the end, I managed.

img_2267

What do you think?  Pretty cute, eh?

Since the blogger who posted the pattern didn’t give any indication as to which type of yarn she used, I had to play around with what I had (I used worsted weight yarn, by the way).  What I did know is that my initial chain had to be in multiples of 8 and I ended up going with a chain of 64.

I have to say, I am pretty pleased.  This thing worked up quickly (which is a good thing because the 3 month old has decided of late that naps weren’t his bag of tea…) and it gives an amazing result.

img_2265

Because she’s two years old (and she knows it), Amélie showed me how absolutely thrilled she was at posing for me this morning.

I think it looks pretty darned good.  I really like the length, but I think the neck opening is a bit too large.  If I were to make another poncho for a two year old, I’d probably go with a chain of 56 (or even 48) instead of 64.  But hey, it’s no biggie.

Now, on to my next project.  Stay tuned!

Author:

Thirty-something year old discovering the joys and bumps of motherhood.

3 thoughts on “Getting (Re)hooked

  1. I find that amazing! I cuss a lot when I do anything crafty. Keeps my neurons sprouting well but raises my blood pressure. That’s really good that you did that with the two year old running around and a three month old who is skipping naps!—-Terri

Let me know what you think! Please?!?

