Posted in Parenting

Potty Training: Take 2

Potty Training: it’s happening.

It’s happening this weekend in fact.

It’s a 3 day weekend so it’s now or never.

I’ve been down this path before.  Charles was about the same age when we embarked on the potty training journey.  And what a journey it way (see here, here, here and here).

I’ve already given it a tentative go about a month ago with Amélie.  We lasted two days.  She just wasn’t having it.  Oh, she’d gotten good at holding it in and on the first day, we hardly had any pee to mop up.  But on day 2 she had an accident, followed by a meltdown.  She became stressed about using the potty and back into the closet it went.

But now, it’s time to try again.  You know why?

fullsizerenderIt’s this one’s fault ^^

You see, Elliot is a big baby.   The last time he was weighed a few weeks ago, he was just shy of 19 lbs.  I reckon he’s over 20 lbs.  But that is not the point.  The point is that both he and his big sis are in washable diapers.

img_2307

This is a problem because Elliot’s thighs don’t fit in his diapers anymore.  He needs a bigger size.  He needs the size his sister’s wearing.  And since there is just no way that I will remain sane if I have to wash diapers every day (which I will if they both share the same diapers), it’s time to potty train.

Now, I think that this time around we are set up for success for a few reasons:

  1. We’ve been counting down the days to the start of potty (and using the words “big girl” a lot).
  2. We’re going to turn it into a celebration (and I’ve got the balloons and stickers to prove it)

    (In case you haven’t noticed, my daughter is a little bit obsessed with pigs)

I’m still unafraid of using bribery.

img_2370-2
I’m pretty sure we won’t need ALL of this candy to get the toddler potty trained.

So, there you have it.

Wish me luck!

Author:

Thirty-something year old discovering the joys and bumps of motherhood.

5 thoughts on “Potty Training: Take 2

Let me know what you think! Please?!?

