Posted in Parenting

Ten Thought Tuesday

TTT

  1. Wow, I haven’t done one of these in ages.  But since I can’t seem to find the time to write more than two or three consecutive sentences, I figured a collection of random thoughts was the way to go.
  2. Today’s a weird day temperature wise.  This morning, when I got up, it was just overcast.  An hour later, by the time I was ready to leave with the kids to daycare, it was raining.  By the time I was on my way back home, about 45 minutes later, it was hailing.  Half an hour later, it was snowing.  Sheesh!
  3. I’ve started running again (yay!).  Since I’m not motivated to run in the snow (and don’t want to buy winter gear for running), I go to the indoor track that the gym near my house has.  It.  Is.  Wonderful.  I felt so great after my first run on Sunday and am eager to go back this evening for another one!
  4. At the start of the year, I decided that it was time for me to stop being afraid of homemade pie crusts.  I’ve never been able to make them, but I decided that it was enough.  I am now able to make puff pastry as well as shortbread crust and standard crust.  It’s great to just be able to whip one up in a few minutes!

    img_2692
    Made this apple pie a couple of weeks ago and it was deeee-licious!
  5. Elliot is now 7 months old (what!?!) and solids are going great!  We’re doing BLW with him as we did with the other two and let me tell you, the little guy loves to eat.  It’s amazing what they can handle.  For instance, even though he hasn’t yet developed the pincer grip, he’s able to maneuver raspberries and smooched blueberries in his mouth.

    elliot-blw
    Pulled-porc sandwich anyone?
  6. Speaking of food, I’ve also decided to incorporate new foods and vegan cuisine in our diets.  For instance, last week, I made this amazing chickpea curry soup.  I garnished with some fresh diced tomatoes and chopped mint.  Tonight, I’m planning on serving our pork with some cornbread, something I’ve never even tasted.  Since I don’t have any cornmeal handy, I’ll be going with a recipe that calls for flour and corn kernels.
  7. I just finished watching Star Trek Voyager a couple of weeks ago.  I don’t understand why the series has such a bad rap, I enjoyed it.  I mean, it wasn’t TNG, but hey, I don’t think any series could live up to what I grew up to.  I am now watching Enterprise.  So there, now you know what a geek I am hehehe.
  8. Last weekend my husband and I went out with my brother, sister and their girlfriend/boyfriend.  We ate at this amazing dumpling place in Chinatown called Qing Hua.  Then, we went to Trapped, which is a real life room escape game.  It was a really cool experience!
  9. I’m finding that though the terrible twos were trying, dealing with a 4 year old is even harder.  I feel like I’m raising a version of Dr. Jeckyl and Mr. Hyde.  Charles is a kind, considerate and gentle boy, but sometimes, it’s like a flip switches and he enters berserk mode: screaming, hitting and giving a whole lot of attitude.
  10. Ok, that’s all I can muster for now.  See ya!

What’s on your mind today?

Author:

Thirty-something year old discovering the joys and bumps of motherhood.

5 thoughts on “Ten Thought Tuesday

  1. The room escape sounds intense! Maggie wants to do a murder mystery who dunnit dinner with me at some point!!
    Kids are funny in the way they can go from one extreme to the next. 😛

    1. It was really fun and different! I love gaming, this was kind of like being in a game. A murder mystery supper is loads of fun too. I’ve done a few. It’s even better when everyone gets into character and dresses up.

  2. Busy woman! Pretty lattice crust. I always liked four, and I’m looking forward to four with my youngest! Isn’t that when they start driving themselves around so I don’t have to? (Joke. 🙂 ) Haven’t seen any new ST, but we love the old ones from, what, the 60s or 70s? Whenever it was! Take good care!——Terri

Let me know what you think! Please?!?

