Posted in Blogging, Parenting

Recipe: Cornbread (no cornmeal)

img_2716

Yesterday, I mentioned that I would be trying out a cornbread recipe.  Boy was it delicious!  Now, bear in mind that I had never tasted cornbread prior to yesterday (never mind made it), but if I were a corn kernel, I would make it my life’s objective to made into this beauty.  It was sweet, moist and super corny (in a good way hahaha!) and had a wonderful texture.  Plus, it has the most lovely yellow colour.

Given that I had to modify the original recipe slightly to exclude the honey (because of Elliot) and to substitute the margarine for butter (which we always have on hand), I figured I’d give myself a bit of a creative license and apply a few more modifications.  Here is the (very) slightly adapted version of the recipe that I made yesterday.  You can find the link to the original recipe in yesterday’s TTT post.

Ingredients

  • 15 oz (≈ 2½ cups) frozen corn kernels, divided
  • 1.5 cups (215 g) flour
  • ½ cup sugar
  • 1 tbsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • ½ cup milk
  • 2 large eggs
  • ¼ cup (55 g) unsalted butter

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 400F.
  2. In a medium saucepan over medium-high heat, place butter, milk and 12 oz (or about 2 cups) of frozen corn kernels.  Stir occasionally until butter is completely melted and corn had thawed, about 5 minutes.
  3. Meanwhile, in a medium mixing bowl, mix together flour, sugar, baking powder and salt.  Add both eggs and whisk them into the dry ingredients until you obtain a thick paste.
  4. Once your corn is ready, remove saucepan from heat puree with an immersion blender.img_2712
  5.  Whisk pureed corn mixture into the dry ingredients bowl.  Add reserved corn kernels (3 oz or about ½ cup) and mix well.img_2713
  6. Pour into greased deep dish pie pan and bake for 25-30 minutes or until a butter knife inserted in the center comes out clean.img_2715
  7. Wait for it to cool enough to cut out a nice slice for a picture, have a little taste before putting the slice back into the dish for supper but gobble it all up instead.

It is pretty sweet.  Sweet enough that it could seriously be dessert.  To be honest, I was afraid it would be too sweet.  I served it with some pan seared pork tenderloin medallions which I rubbed with a paste made of a mix of worcestershire sauce, paprika, garlic powder and salt and a garlic spinach-kale puree.  It turns out, however that it complemented this meal with absolute perfection.

If you try it, let me know!

Author:

Thirty-something year old discovering the joys and bumps of motherhood.

4 thoughts on “Recipe: Cornbread (no cornmeal)

Let me know what you think! Please?!?

