Posted in fitness, running

Motivation

fullsizerender-7

So, I think I mentioned in my last TTT post that I had started running again.  For those of you who don’t know, I discovered a love for running a little under two years ago, while I was on maternity leave for my daughter.  I followed the C25K running program and was able to go from being out of breath two thirds of the way into my 8x 1min run/1.5min walk to being able to run 5km nonstop after just 3 months.  It.  Was.  Fantastic.

Then, one morning, I sprain my ankle during a run.  I wasn’t able to train for a couple of weeks, but was still determined to run the race I had signed up for (not one of my best ideas, but I wanted to do it so much!).  Then, I became pregnant.  Enter first trimester fatigue and 24h nausea.  Yeah, let’s just say I stopped running.

This time around, things are different.  Instead of running in the mornings, I run in the evening once the kids are all in bed.  Instead of running outdoors, I run indoors, on a track.  And it is hard.  Real hard.

By the time I can leave the house, it’s 7:45pm.  Besides the fact that I am super tired and would much rather stay in the house and crochet or stream Netflix, I never quite know what to eat for supper or how much to eat because I know I’ll be running rather soon after my meal.  When I get back home around 9pm, I’m on a high and it takes me a couple of hours before I’m able to settle into sleep (plus, I know I’ll be getting up at least once during the night to nurse Elliot and I’ll be up by 7am the next morning to get everything going).

It annoys me to have to bundle up (we’re in the middle of our Canadian winter here), sit in a cold car and drive to the gym (thankfully only 5 minutes away) before I can start my run.  It annoys me that I have to re-bundle up, get back into a cold car and drive back home before I can get into my cozy pyjamas.

But you know what?  I do it anyways.  I do it because I know that once I’ll be on the track, it’s going to feel good.  I do it because I know that once I’ll be finished my run, I’ll be proud of myself.  I do it because while I’m running, I’m not thinking about everything that’s going on in my life, I’m not having to divide my attention between my 4 children (I mean, 3 kids and my husband hahaha) I’m by myself in my own zone and it is good for my sanity.

I’ve managed to get out for my run each time so far by:

  1. Scheduling my run days in advance (Tuesdays, Thursdays and Sundays)
  2. Getting into my running clothes as soon as the kids are down for their nap/ the night (seems kind of foolish to be all dressed up to run and then not go).
  3. Keeping all of my running gear (shoes, water bottle, earbuds, lock…) packed in a bag.
  4. Talking to my procrastinating inner child and kicking her in the butt and bribing her with a post run smoothie.

Do you like to run?  How do you stay motivated?

Author:

Thirty-something year old discovering the joys and bumps of motherhood.

14 thoughts on “Motivation

  1. My wife is like you in ways. She loves running but she hurt her back in a race and has been out for about 4 months and it is driving her crazy. I am praying she still has the passion to run when she is cleared by the doctor again.

    1. Too bad you had to give up running. Did your hips cause you trouble during your pregnancy? With the loosening of ligaments due to the hormones, I end up needing to see my osteopath about once a month from 4 months on for my lower back and hips. I’ve read that power walking is great. The important bit is to take the time to move.

Let me know what you think! Please?!?

