Posted in fitness, Parenting

Sunday Runday: Week 3 (+ weeks 1 & 2)

sunday-runday

I mentioned in an earlier post that one of the things that helped keep me motivated to get out and run was to schedule my runs.  I’ve also restarted the C25K running program to get back into running.  I thought I’d start sharing each week’s schedule with you guys so that those of you who want to follow along with this noob fitness mama, could do so.

So basically, I do three days of running and one day of at home crossfit.  Two years ago, I found this blog in which the author shared a 6 week at home crossfit plan.  Her fitness story inspired me to get active.  Now, since I don’t have her level of fitness, or the same equipment as she does, I’ve taken that 6 week plan and have modified it to cater to me.  My long-term goal is to be able to rock it out as is.

The crossfit sessions are broken into two sections: strength and WOD (or workout of the day).  To keep myself motivated and encouraged, I have given myself the following “rules”.

  1. My goal is to finish everything in 20 minutes
  2. If I start a set and my 20 minutes are over, I have to finish the whole set.  This avoids me, for example, doing my lunges very slowly when I see the 20 minute mark approaching so that can get out of doing burpees hehe.

Since I didn’t do a post like this for the first 2 weeks, I’ll write them out below.  Today, I’m about to start week 3.

Week 1:

Sunday: Run (C25K week 1, day 1)

  • Brisk 5 min warm up walk
  • 60 sec. jogging, 90 sec walking x8
  • 5 min cool down walk

Monday: Rest day

Tuesday: Run (C25K week 1, day 2) – See Sunday run

Wednesday: Rest day

Thursday: Run (C25K week 1, day 3) – See Sunday run

Friday: Crossfit!

  • Strength: 4 sets of modified pushups (on my knees): 20 – 15 – 10 – 5 with 2 minute rest between sets.
  • WOD: 15 lunges, 5 burpees, 25 bear crawls (5 sets)

Saturday: Rest day

Week 2:

Sunday: Run (C25K week 2, day 1)

  • Brisk 5 min warm up walk
  • 90 sec. jogging, 2 min walking x6
  • 5 min cool down walk

Monday: Rest day

Tuesday: Run (C25K week 2, day 2) – See Sunday run

Wednesday: Rest day

Thursday: Run (C25K week 2, day 3) – See Sunday run

Friday: Crossfit!

  • Strength: This 5 minute HIIT workout (OMG that was hard!)
  • WOD: 20 dips, 20 wall balls, 20 crunches, 20 sec. plank (4 sets)

Saturday: Rest day

Week 3 (this week!):

Sunday: Run (C25K week 3, day 1)

  • Brisk 5 min warm up walk
  • 90 sec. jog, 90 sec. walk, 3 min. jog, 3 min. walk x 2
  • 5 min cool down walk

Monday: Rest day

Tuesday: Run (C25K week 2, day 2) – See Sunday run

Wednesday: Rest day

Thursday: Run (C25K week 2, day 3) – See Sunday run

Friday: Crossfit!

  • Strength: Front squat (holding weight above chest) 8-5-3-5-8
  • WOD: 150 singles (jump rope) 4 rounds

Saturday: Rest day

What are you doing to keep in shape this week?

Happy Sunday!

Author:

Thirty-something year old discovering the joys and bumps of motherhood.

15 thoughts on “Sunday Runday: Week 3 (+ weeks 1 & 2)

      1. I stupid doctor messed up a lumbar puncture and Hey! Presto! I was in a wheelchair. But I’m doing much better but gained between 5 and 1,000 pounds. Time to really start moving again!

      2. Eek, well that’s no fun at all. I’m happy to hear that you’re doing better. It’s so easy to get stuck in the everyday routine and forget ourselves (and have the pounds sneakily pile up on us). Speaking of moving again, I should probably put the laptop away, stop procrastinating and get my dishes done. *Sigh*, sometimes I wish I had a magic wand that could take care of all of that for me.

Let me know what you think! Please?!?

