Posted in Parenting

Being “That” Mom

I’m “that” mom.

You know, the one who sits her 2.5 year old in a rear-facing car position even though she reached the minimal age + weight & height limit to be seated in a forward-facing position a year and a half ago.

I’m “that” mom.

You know, the one who still has her 4 year old in a seat with a 5 point harness even though he’s reached the minimal weight/height requirement to be allowed to be in certain booster seats.

I’m “that” mom.

You know, the one who makes her kids take off their winter coats, no matter how cold it is outside, before strapping them into their seats.

I’m “that” mom.

You know, the one who reads the car seat user manual cover to cover to make sure that she knows exactly how to safely install said seat in her/a vehicle.

I’m “that” mom.

You know, the one who insists on strapping her kid’s car seat in another vehicle by herself to make sure it’s properly secured.

I’m “that” mom.

You know, the one who spent many hours on car seat safety forums and websites.

I’m “that” mom.

You know, the one whose father actually called the police department to make sure that he could safely and legally install his 4 year old grandson’s car seat in his pickup truck for their morning together.  (Dad, you’re a rockstar!)

I’m “that” mom.

You know, the one who takes extra time to make sure that the straps are well secured and that the chest clip is at the right height before making her way to her own seat.

I’m “that” mom.

You know, the one who takes so long to drive out of the parking space you want when she has her kids with her.  (And, incidentally, I’m also the one who doesn’t give a shit about the old dude honking his horn because he feels it’s taking her too long to drive out of the parking spot he wants.)

I’m “that” mom because my kids’ safety is my responsibility.  Call me crazy, intense, overprotective, overzealous.  Call me anything you want, I don’t care.  Sticks and stones, you know…

Additional information:

*This post was prompted by a story that popped up in my Twitter feed yesterday.  It was a very sad story about a mother who lost her baby in a car accident because of improper car seat use.*

Author:

Thirty-something year old discovering the joys and bumps of motherhood.

10 thoughts on “Being “That” Mom

  1. My former mother-in-law was furious with me because I wouldn’t let her hold my newborn in her arms for the 6 block ride home from a store. He was crying and she kept saying, “It’ll be okay if I hold him.” I don’t think she ever forgave me. I don’t care.

    1. I’m sorry, I’m sorry, I’m sorry! Your comment ended up in my spam folder for some odd reason. Anyways, it’s not always easy standing up to the in-laws, especially when it comes to your kids. And as for not having been forgiven, there was nothing to forgive in the first place.

Let me know what you think! Please?!?

