Posted in Parenting

The Existential Questions of Parenthood

So, I’ve been doing this parenting thing for a little over four years now and I’ve got a few unanswered questions.  Perhaps one of you more experienced parents could help me answer them.  Or, do you have your own to add to the list?

  1. Why does the baby always wake up as soon as I’m on the verge of falling asleep?
  2. Why does the toddler insist on eating everything with her hands except stuff that should actually be eaten with one’s hands?
  3. Why does the baby always wait to be put in a fresh diaper before pooping?
  4. While I’m at it, why does the baby always have to spit up all over his and my freshly cleaned clothes?
  5. Why do the kids always want to listen to the same song/watch the same movie/read the same book over and over and over and over…again?  (For the record, the song of the moment is “Let it go”.
  6. Why are the kids always ready to leave in record time when I’ve got time to spare, but take forever to get dressed when I’m in a hurry to leave?
  7. Why does the toddler have to put on her underwear, pants and shirt the wrong way around every single day?  (Mind you, I’m not complaining, she gets dressed by herself).
  8. Why does a sudden urge to pee always happen when we are at the farthest possible distance to a toilet?
  9. Why is it that on the one night the baby decides to sleep well, the toddler or 4 year old have to wake up screaming or crying?
  10. Why does the washroom have to become the new communal area (oh, don’t mind me, I’m just sitting here pooping.  Sure, why don’t you come sit on me with your story!)?

    No words can describe how much I love the little buggers.

Author:

Thirty-something year old discovering the joys and bumps of motherhood.

18 thoughts on “The Existential Questions of Parenthood

    1. Be my guest 😉 Though, I’m pretty sure the same questions apply no matter how many kids you have. Except maybe the one about the toddler waking up when the baby has his one good night of sleep, ’cause if you have one kid then there aren’t any others around to wake you hehe.

      Thanks for stopping by!

      1. So true! My youngest (3 months) cries automatically the moment my older one cries or screams, it’s so funny. Parenting is a joy nonetheless. I”ll be following your adventures here 🙂

  1. Also another question… why can kids never find their shoes or jackets but can spot a microscopic-sized piece of green veggie in their soup?

    I wish I had answers for you. I am due with our 8th baby at the end of the month and my oldest is only 9, and I still don’t know the answers to these questions. 😉

    1. Oh gosh, the jackets. I go completely nuts when they tell me they can’t find them!

      Congrats on the new baby that’s about to arrive. Things must be crazy (wonderful, and plain crazy) with such a big family!

  2. To wear us down and leave only our best parts (selves) behind.

    I DO love Let it Go, even after a million times. Ours right now is Miss Mary Mack, Mack, Mack. I don’t even read it anymore. I just point to a few things on the page and skip pages and hope she doesn’t notice.

    1. To be honest, I also do love Let it Go. Oh well, can’t be perfect, now can I? Most of our Boynton board books I know by heart because I read them so much and I’m pretty sure I could recite the whole Cars movie by heart. I’ll keep my fingers crossed for the page skipping to continue working for you 😉

  3. La question pourquoi ou “why” est très populaire, on l’entend souvent de Charles et sa maman Sophie. Tant de questions pour une seule réponse. C’est la Vie qui bat remplie d’amour et de raisons d’aimer. gros bisous à toi belle Sophie et merci pour ces merveilleux partages. Let it go !

  4. Ugh… number 9 ALL. THE. TIME.
    For me I’d add:
    Why is it that when I have to get up anyway to get ready to leave for an appointment, one or both of my girls decide to sleep in and I miss the opportunity to do so too?
    And…
    Why is it the MOMENT you buy a food in BULK (because up until that point your kid loved/ate it daily), they stop wanting that food?
    There are no beings on earth as wasteful as toddlers.

Let me know what you think! Please?!?

