Posted in Blogging awards, Parenting

One Lovely Blog Award

one-lovely-blog-award

I was recently nominated by wonderful Elizabeth over at The Comfortable Coop to receive this award.  If you’ve never been by her blog, I really urge you to take a look.  It’s filled with loveliness, yummyness, funnyness and all of the other cool “ness” words you can think of (or make up).

So there, thank you Elizabeth!

Now, as is the case with all of the blogging awards I’ve seen around, this one has rules.  Namely:

  1. Thank the person who nominated you and leave a link to their blog
  2.  Post about the award. Share 7 facts about yourself.
  3.  Nominate, AT MOST, 15 people.
  4. Tell your nominees the good news!

7 facts about myself

  1.  This song is always guaranteed to put me in a good mood.

2.    The book that I’ve read the most often in my life is Antoine de Saint-Exupéry’s Le Petit Prince.

img_2779
Yes, this is an actual picture of my book.  As you can tell, it’s been well loved.

3.  I don’t kill bugs.  Not even spiders.  Not even when they’re in the house.  I either let them be or relocate them.  In fact, I’ve been known to go out of my way to save a drowning spider in my tub or an earthworm chillin’ behind one of the tires of my vehicle on a rainy day.

4.  I’ve have the unfortunate experience of sitting on the toilet with the seat up in the middle of the night.  I’ve also had the unfortunate experience of sitting on the toilet with the potty ring still on in the middle of the night.  Come to think of it, I’ve also that the unfortunate experience of sitting on the toilet with the cover closed whilst really having to pee in the middle of the night.

img_2780
In case you were wondering (’cause, duh, of course you were) I’m talking about this specific potty ring.

5.  I got married last May at my house.  I was 36 weeks pregnant with Elliot.  There were a total of 20 people including my husband, two children and myself.

photo-2016-05-27-10-28-25-pm
Here I am with my dad, my sister and my brother.

6.  The only reliable method I’ve found to stop biting my nails is to put nail polish on them.  Which reminds me, I really should be putting some on right about now.

7.  I’ve only been out of the country (Canada) three times.  Once when our family moved from Alberta to Québec and my dad drove through the US to save us from the boring sights of the Prairies.  Once when I went to France and Belgium on a trip with my school band.  Once when I went to New York for 4 day with my mom and her friend when Charles was 9 months old (which, by the way, was the WORST idea ever given that I was still nursing and ended up being super engorged for the whole trip).

Here are the bloggers I nominate for this award

  1. A Little Something Extra is a wonderful blog about a mama who has a beautiful and lively 2 year old with T21.
  2. Bucket List Publications Just wow.  Lesley decided to live life as she wanted to.  She has been to over 50 countries over the World and isn’t even close to stopping.  The pictures she posts of her experiences make me want to be right there with her.
  3. Fibromy-Awesome is written by a 30-something year old who has been dealt a nasty hand of cards (Fibromyalgia and Chronic Fatigue Syndrome) in life.  Her posts are full of thought and always an interesting read.  Plus, she also doesn’t kill spiders.
  4. Living Lighter in Atlanta is written by Valerie, an amazing woman, homeschooling mom of 4 kids (well, actually, she homeschools 3 of them because her fourth is 7 months old) and super organized minimalist.  She has become a true friend over the years and is the one who “showed me the ropes” when I started blogging a little over 4 years ago.
  5. My Caffeinated Chaos is written by a mom of 4 who brings the funnies to my days.
  6. Raising 5 Kids With Disabilities and Remaining Sane Blog: I know, it’s quite a mouthful to say, but this blog is really worth reading (as is her book!).

Hope everyone is having a great day!

Author:

Thirty-something year old discovering the joys and bumps of motherhood.

12 thoughts on “One Lovely Blog Award

      1. Lol! Go, Charles! It was just strange for me! Because I didn’t like killing houseflies or anything. Spiders, I’d catch in tissue and throw outside. Then, shortly after the birth of my first, I saw a spider, and I smashed it adamantly, telling it there was no way I was going to let it live to bite my daughter. I swear—-it was subconscious!!!! —-Terri 🙂

  1. Haha, I love that Tarzan song, too (as well as all the other songs in the film)! I also love the music in the second movie, have you seen it?
    Aww, what a cute photo! You and were definitely round this summer, weren’t we? lol Congratulations on your marriage – I hadn’t heard! ^_^

    1. I didn’t even know that there WAS a second movie! I will definitely have to check it out! And yes, we were definitely both very round this summer! Thanks, I was sure I had told you. Sheesh, my memory isn’t what it used to be (I’ll blame it on the fact that I’m in my 30s).

  2. Hey thanks for the shout out! I respect you for enduring the stress of a wedding while 36 weeks preggo. Maybe you’re a more chill person and probably did things the right way– I’m a part of a wedding wave happening within my friends, and each time my girlfriend comes close to losing her mind and calling the whole thing off because of the stress of planning. I’m like wha? Who knew? It’s a big party why is this so stressful? But I’m in the south- people go
    Insane with their weddings here, which is probably why the bride ends almost losing it– too serious. Low key is the way to go. Ok why am I blabbering about weddings? I don’t even have a bf! Anyway, congrats 🙂 your note about sitting on the different types of toilet tops in the middle of the night is hilarious.. you should make that a blog post. OK, I’ll stop rambling. See you round the web buddy! 🙂 love, mary

Let me know what you think! Please?!?

