Posted in fitness, Parenting

Sunday Runday: Week 4

sunday-runday

Hello again!

Sunday Runday are a series of posts that I will post (you guessed it!) every Sunday.  In it, I will be writing down my fitness plan for the week.  These posts are meant first and foremost to motivate myself, however if they motivate you too, then that’s awesome!

Please feel free to comment, leave suggestions, give words of encouragement…  If you would like to link to a post you wrote regarding fitness, nutrition or your week’s plan, the comment section of this post is the place to do so!

Right now, each week consists of 3 days of running and 1 day of at-home crossfit-type workout.  I’m planning on expanding to 2 days of the crossfit-type workout once it stops taking me three days to recover.

I am currently following the C25K (Couch to 5K) training program for my runs.

As for the crossfit sessions, they are broken into two sections: strength and WOD (or workout of the day).  They are based on this 6 week plan that Simply Sadie Jane has posted on her blog.  To keep myself motivated and encouraged, I have given myself the following “rules”.

  1. My goal is to finish everything in 20 minutes
  2. If I start a set and my 20 minutes are over, I have to finish the whole set.  This avoids me, for example, doing my lunges very slowly when I see the 20 minute mark approaching so that can get out of doing burpees hehe.

How last week went

  • Runs: I’m pleasantly surprised by how easy the runs are.  This is the second time I’ve done C25K (the first being about 2 years ago) and I’m finding that my body is adapting much more quickly this time around.  I’ve had minimal trouble with the 3 minute part of the run.  However, I did notice that my asthma seems to be acting up, so I guess I’ll have to start taking my inhaler again.  Oh well, small price to pay.
  • Crossfit: Last week’s workout went impressively well.  Though looking at it, it seemed lighter than the previous workouts (I even finished with almost 4 minutes to spare out of my allotted 20 minutes!).  Of course, it’s always fun when there’s some jump rope involved.  I’m eager for the weather to get warmer so that I can work on being able to do double unders.

This week’s plan

Sunday: Run (C25K week 4, day 1)

  • Brisk 5 min warm up walk
    • 3 min. jog, 1.5 min. walk;
    • 5 min. jog, 2.5 min. walk;
    • 3 min. jog, 1.5 min. walk;
    • 5 min. jog.
  • 5 min cool down walk

Monday: Rest day

Tuesday: Run (C25K week 4, day 2) – See Sunday run

Wednesday: Rest day

Thursday: Run (C25K week 4, day 3) – See Sunday run

Friday: Crossfit!

  • Strength: Alternate Wall Sits (1 min) and Planks (1 min), 10 min. EMOM (every minute on the minute)
  • WOD:
    • 150 singles (jump rope!)
    • 20-20-10-10 lunges (x4)

Saturday: Rest day

What are you doing to keep in shape this week?

Happy Sunday!

Author:

Thirty-something year old discovering the joys and bumps of motherhood.

7 thoughts on “Sunday Runday: Week 4

  1. Great Stuff, Keep up the good work. If you fancy supporting a good cause. Take a look at https://www.runningtheworld196.com I’m setting a world record for running a marathon in every country in the world in 18 months in aid of Prostate Cancer UK. 🙂 @manofsport on instagram Get Involved. It’s going to be epic 🙂 If you want to share it around id be very grateful.

    1. Hi, thanks for taking the time to stop by. Sorry, I didn’t reply sooner, your comment ended up in my spam folder for some odd reason. Sounds like a great cause you’re running for! I’ll take a look at your blog for sure and spread the word!

Let me know what you think! Please?!?

