Posted in fitness, Parenting

Sunday Runday: Week 5

sunday-runday

Hello again!

Sunday Runday are a series of posts that I will post (you guessed it!) every Sunday.  In it, I will be writing down my fitness plan for the week.  These posts are meant first and foremost to motivate myself, however if they motivate you too, then that’s awesome!

Please feel free to comment, leave suggestions, give words of encouragement…  If you would like to link to a post you wrote regarding fitness, nutrition or your week’s plan, the comment section of this post is the place to do so!

Right now, each week consists of 3 days of running and 1 day of at-home crossfit-type workout.  I’m planning on expanding to 2 days of the crossfit-type workout once it stops taking me three days to recover.

I am currently following the C25K (Couch to 5K) training program for my runs.

As for the crossfit sessions, they are broken into two sections: strength and WOD (or workout of the day).  They are based on this 6 week plan that Simply Sadie Jane has posted on her blog.  To keep myself motivated and encouraged, I have given myself the following “rules”.

  1. My goal is to finish everything in 20 minutes
  2. If I start a set and my 20 minutes are over, I have to finish the whole set.  This avoids me, for example, doing my lunges very slowly when I see the 20 minute mark approaching so that can get out of doing burpees hehe.

How last week went

  • Runs: I can feel myself getting my running legs (and heart, and lungs!) back.  Despite my qualms about running on a treadmill, I actually appreciated the experience.  It allowed me to check in on my heart rate periodically as well as figure out at what speed I felt comfortable for my running portions as well as for my walking portions!  I also enjoyed not having my phone strapped to my arm for my run.
  • Crossfit: Again, after 4 short weeks, I’m feeling as though I’m getting back in the stride of things.  I was able to complete my 10 minute wall sit followed by plank EMOM without too much difficulty and managed to complete 3 out of the 4 sets of lunges followed by 150 jump rope singles.  Yay me!

This week’s plan

Sunday: Run (C25K week 5, day 1)

  • Brisk 5 min warm up walk
  • Run:
    • (5 min. jog, 3 min. walk) x2
    • 5 min. jog
  • 5 min cool down walk

Monday: Rest day

Tuesday: Run (C25K week 5, day 2)

  • Brisk 5 min warm up walk
  • Run:
    • 8 min. jog
    • 5 min. walk
    • 8 min. jog
  • 5 min cool down walk

Wednesday: Rest day

Thursday: Run (C25K week 5, day 3)

  • Brisk 5 min warm up walk
  • 20 min. jog (oh my!)
  • 5 min cool down walk

Friday: Crossfit!

  • Strength: 5 Burpees, EMOM, 10 minutes
  • WOD:
    • (15 Box jumps, 5 Pushups), AMRAP (as many rounds as possible), 10 minutes

Saturday: Rest day

What are you doing to keep in shape this week?

Happy Sunday!

Author:

Thirty-something year old discovering the joys and bumps of motherhood.

9 thoughts on “Sunday Runday: Week 5

  1. Good luck! Hope it all goes well for you – I’m planning a couple of runs this week and at least 1 session at the gym (we will be away so I find that’s the hardest time to keep motivated!)

    1. Thanks! I can’t wait for the weather/state of the streets to be good enough that I can start running outside again.

      And yest, definitely easier to remain motivated when going through the day to day routine than when there is a break in the routine. Good luck keeping that motivation in check!

Let me know what you think! Please?!?

