Posted in fitness

Success!

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: I love the C25K running program.  I find it well thought out.  It really can take someone who lives a sedentary lifestyle and allow for that person to go from being out of breath after 1 minute of running to being able to run non-stop for 5 kilometers within a reasonable amount of time (they say 8 weeks, in my first experience, it was more like 12 weeks).

However, there is one run that scares the heck out of me.  It scared me the first time I attempted it and it scared me today.  You see, you go from doing run/walk intervals.  Then, you reach week 5 day 3 and bam! they lay the following bombshell on you: brisk 5 minute warmup walk, then jog two miles (or 20 minutes) with no walking.

fullsizerender-54

As my brother would say: “what the actual F*&%”!?!

I mean, the workout before is run 8 minutes, walk 5 minutes, run 5 minutes and now this?  I remember, the first time I followed this program I was dead certain that there was a mistake.  I googled, consulted numerous forums and sites only to find out that it was no mistake.

So, I went for it (and managed!).  This time, though I was again feeling shaky about the run again, I figured I may as well seize the day and go for it.  I knew I had done it before and knew I could do it again.

When I got up, what I saw was a grey misty day with streets full of puddles.

e9a02be5-0306-4e60-8b67-01e10f708cf4

The dreary weather alone should have been enough to discourage me from running outside, but it didn’t.  I checked the weather app on my phone which confirmed that though a comfy 14 degrees C was forcasted for the day, it would only be happening in the afternoon.  I did not want to wait that long.

img_2927
20km/h winds, light drizzle?  Oh yeah, bring it on!

I decided I’d go for it anyways.  I layered on some weather appropriate clothing and headed out the door.  I felt a little chilly at first, but knew that it was perfect as I would warm up as I ran.

I hit my first mental hurdle after 5 minutes of running, but I talked to myself, reminding myself that only four days before I had run 8 minutes straight.  I could, at least, run to 8 minutes.  My next hurdle came up when I hit the 8 minute mark.  I talked to myself, reminding myself that since the start, I’ve been progressively upping my running time.  I could surely make it to 10 minutes.  I pushed through.  At the 10 minute mark, I hit another mental hurdle.  I reminded myself that I was already halfway through, my legs could still handle the run so I persevered.

After 12 minutes, I was starting to have issues with my breathing, I wanted to start walking, but I knew that if I stopped running, I wouldn’t be able to start again.  I told myself that I only had 8 minutes left, convinced myself that it was like running the second split from my Tuesday run.  I slowed down my pace slightly worked on getting my breathing in a pattern and got it under control.  By the time there was 5 minutes left, I gave myself some visual goals (I’ll make it to the mailbox, I’ll run to the end of the street, I’ll keep going until I reach the stop sign…) and managed to finish my 20 minutes!

img_2926
A 7min. 32 sec. average pace for 20 minutes, not bad!

I won’t lie.  I was very happy when it was cool down time.  By then, my legs were starting to burn.  I had almost given up on a few occasions.  But every time the little voice inside of me told me that it was too hard, I silenced it.

img_2925
Post-run selfie: tired, hungry and dang proud!  (Ok, perhaps a tad camera shy too hahaha!)

Author:

Thirty-something year old discovering the joys and bumps of motherhood.

10 thoughts on “Success!

  1. Congratulations! That is awesome! I started doing a 20 minute workout video which I thought I was going to die on the first day! But now, I can get though it a little easier and always feel better after!

Let me know what you think! Please?!?

