Posted in More Than A Mom

F is for…Facial!!!

I love a good facial.  I could seriously have one every single week.  Alas, since I don’t have a money-sprouting -tree in my backyard (so sad *snif*snif*), I had to find other ways to bring happiness to the sensitive skin on my face.

The last time I had a facial was on my birthday.  My wonderful husband booked one for me (as well as a mani/pedi and a massage – you see, this is one of the many reasons I married him – so thoughtful!).  The esthetician (is that even a word in English?) I had was passionate about her job (and took a scary amount of pleasure in torturing me removing my blackheads).

While we were chatting, she mentioned that she took the time to pamper her face weekly.  “You might say that it’s part of my job to have clear skin, but I do it for me more than I do it for the expectations of the job”, she said.  When I told her that I didn’t really see how I would have time to take better care of my face she started talking about her masks: “I’m doing the dishes, I have my mask on;  I’m folding some clothes, I’ve got my mask on; I’m cleaning my house, I’m wearing my mask.  One time, I went to Tim Hortons and people were looking at me funny.  I realized I’d forgotten to take my mask off before leaving the house!”, she concluded.

Multitasking?  I can do that!  I mean, it’s not like I have to stay perfectly still and do nothing while a mask is working its magic, right?  Before leaving, I asked if she could recommend a good cream for my face, bought it and went back home.  The next day, I was researching home facials.

Through my research, I figured that I would need an exfoliant, a mask and a hydrating cream.  Since I already had the cream, all that was left was to find the other two ingredients.

Here’s my happy face routine (I try to do this every Friday as soon as all the kids are in bed)

Step 1: Open up those pores!

I start off with a washcloth that I dip in hot water.  Then, I sorta wring it out and put it over my face.

Step 2: Dead skin cells, be gone!

I then put a bit of exfoliant in my hand (pssst…by this time, my washcloth is off my face ok?) and massage it into my face (pro tip: eyeballs do not like to be exfoliated, I know this from experience!) to exfoliate and remove the dead skin cells.  Then, it’s time to wet that washcloth again to remove the exfoliant from my skin.

FullSizeRender 4
I love this scrub!  It’s gentle enough to be used every day and works wonderfully.

Step 3: Schlop some mud on your face

I’ve tried a few combinations since starting my weekly facial routine, this is by far my favourite:

  • 2 tsp moroccan red clay powder
  • 1 tsp orange blossom floral water
  • 1 tsp rose floral water

FullSizeRender 5

I mix the ingredients together to form a paste and spread it on my face.  Then, I let it sit for 20 minutes as I do something productive like fold some clothes, do the dishes or take up my crochet hook and watch something on Netflix (hey, that’s productive, right??.

FullSizeRender 7
Smells so good!

Step 4: Clean and moisturize!

Now is the time I remove the dried clay (this is when my face thanks me as it is able to move again).  I usually hit the shower to do this, but sometimes, I just remove it with some water and a washcloth.  All that’s left after is to apply some moisturizer to my face.

Step 5…(optional but oh so satisfying)

Wait, I lied, there’s another step.  Usually, the following day, I can’t stop touching my face because it’s so soft.  Think, baby skin soft.  Yeah, it’s freaking impressive!

Do you like facials?  Do you have a happy face routine?

Author:

Thirty-something year old discovering the joys and bumps of motherhood.

8 thoughts on “F is for…Facial!!!

  1. It’s crazy – when I was in my 20’s I had masks, lotions, creams, etc etc but now I just dab a quick moisturizer on and that’s it. How/why did I ever stop my face routine?? I’m going to get back to it – I always liked it and I deserve it!! I can’t wait to see your post when you tell us about forgetting to rinse your mask off and go out in public! LOL 😀

    1. Oh, but I’m not the one who went on with my mask still on (though I wouldn’t put it past myself), it was my esthetician who was telling me she’d gone out without removing her mask first.

      I didn’t even dab moisturizer on my face until about 3 months ago. Now that I do it regularly (I try once a day but sometimes I forget), I realize that it really helps. Geez, I must be getting old haha!

      Do it, you totally deserve it!

  2. First of all, I must say you have a very sweet husband! That was a great birthday present 🙂 I do exfoliate my face and I do wear a mask but I think I must be a little dumb because until reading this post it never occurred to me that I could make a little routine of it. I do it in the shower, for both, always. I should start with the little washcloth, like you, then exfoliate, and then put on the mask. ON THE SAME DAY!! Come on, brain!

      1. I will do that from now on. Pick a day and time for my “at home facial” and might also fold some clothes while at it 🙂

Let me know what you think! Please?!?

