Posted in fitness, Parenting

Sunday Runday: Week 9

sunday-runday

Hello again!

If you’re new to this series of posts, I recommend you start here to get a sense of what I’ve been up to.

How last week went

  • Runs:  My runs were really interesting!  Changing from a heel strike to a forefoot strike is going well.  My body seems to be adjusting nicely to the change.  I mistakenly did my Sunday run twice as long as it should have and my calves were on fire for the three following days.  I was also really out of breath which I found weird as I was just doing 1 min run followed by 1 min walk 10 times (though I should have done it 5 times).  After looking at my splits though, I understood why: by running at the recommended 180 steps per minute, I was doing splits of 5:50/km pace.  I have never done that before!  On Tuesday, I ran at 170 steps per minute which was better and on Thursday I ran at 160 which I found a bit slow.  I reckon my comfort zone is somewhere in between.
  • Crossfit: The Australian pull-ups…whoa!  They were hard BUT I managed to do them (which is more than I can say for my ability to do regular pull-ups).  I found it really encouraging and am looking forward to doing more!  As for the rest, I managed to finish with 2 minutes to spare in my 20 minute cutoff goal.  I was really happy as I was certain I’d never have time to finish.

Week 9 plan

Sunday: Run

  • Forefoot drills (5 minutes)
  • 15 minute run (2 min. run /1 min. walk) x 5
  • 5 minute cool down walk + stretches

Monday: Rest day

Tuesday: Run

  • See Sunday run

Wednesday: Rest day

Thursday: Run

  • See Sunday run

Friday: Crossfit!

  • Strength: Cleans 10-10-10-10-10 (5 for each arm with a 15lb kettlebell)
  • WOD: 8 rounds
    • 10 mountain climbers
    • 10 jumping jacks
    • 5 knee push ups

Saturday: Rest day

What are you doing to keep in shape this week?

Happy Sunday!

Author:

Thirty-something year old discovering the joys and bumps of motherhood.

4 thoughts on “Sunday Runday: Week 9

  1. I’m assuming crochet doesn’t count as exercise……actually the weather is starting to get more Springy and I will be taking some little hikes with hubby in one of the State Forests where we live. I hope my body doesn’t reject the fresh air!! 😀

    1. Crochet totally counts. I mean, you’re moving a hand, right? Hikes sound lovely, I can’t wait for the weather to allow it around here. I’m sure your body will take to the fresh air like a fish to water.

  2. Ouch, I’m sorry about your calves – that is painful!! I did a jump rope challenge once and the pain and stiffness for the next several days has prevented me from EVER wanting to jump rope again, lol!
    Nice work this week!!

    1. Thanks! The calves weren’t too bad in the grand scheme of things. I find having sore quads to be worse. I absolutely love jumping rope and am planning on nailing double unders this summer. Wow, you must have been in a considerable amount of pain to never want to jump rope again!

Let me know what you think! Please?!?

