Posted in fitness

Sunday Runday: Week 11

sunday-runday

Hello again!

If you’re new to this series of posts, I recommend you start here to get a sense of what I’ve been up to.

How last week went

  • Runs:  My run (yup, I ran only once) was pretty difficult.  I managed to do 4/5 intervals, on the other interval, I needed a longer walking break.  I also ended up with some pretty persistent shin pain, which is why I skipped my two other runs.  From what I’ve read, I’ve ether got shin splints or a stress fracture.  Until I can see a doctor, I’m going to lay off running for a while.  When I do start again, I’m going to return to C25K so that I can get longer walking breaks and give my lungs a chance to adjust.  I also think I’m going to have to start taking my inhaler again.  Yup, fun times.
  • Crossfit: After catching up on my sleep, I was soooo ready for this.  Again, it went really well!  I even managed to finish before the 20 minute mark, yay!  Since things are going so well, I’ve decided that starting on week 13, I’ll do 2 crossfit sessions instead of one per week.  I’ve also decided, that when I finish with time to spare, I’m going to do some kettlebell work (because it’s so darned fun!) until I reach the 20 minute mark.
  • Squash: my husband and I decided to take up squash again!  Since my brother is at home on Monday evenings, it’s easy for us to get out of the house once the kids are down for the night.  This is going to be a weekly occurrence, yay!

Week 11 plan

Sunday: Swim, 1/2km (20 laps)

  • 100m warm up, any stroke
  • 4 x 25m kickboard, 20 sec. rest between laps
  • 6 x 25m free, 20 sec. rest between laps
  • 4 x 25m free (sprint laps), 30 sec. rest between laps
  • 50m cool down, any stroke

Monday: Squash

Tuesday: Rest day

Wednesday: Swim, 1/2km (20 laps)

  • 100m warm up, any stroke
  • 4 x 25m kickboard, 20 sec. rest between laps
  • 6 x 25m free, 20 sec. rest between laps
  • 4 x 25m free (sprint laps), 30 sec. rest between laps
  • 50m cool down, any stroke

 

Thursday: Rest day

Friday: Swim, 1/2km (20 laps)

  • 100m warm up, any stroke
  • 4 x 25m kickboard, 20 sec. rest between laps
  • 6 x 25m free, 20 sec. rest between laps
  • 4 x 25m free (sprint laps), 30 sec. rest between laps
  • 50m cool down, any stroke

Saturday: Crossfit

  • Strength: Overhead squat, 5-5-5-5-5
  • WOD: 5 rounds
    • 5 pushups
    • 15 crunches

What are you doing to keep in shape this week?

Happy Sunday!

Author:

Thirty-something year old discovering the joys and bumps of motherhood.

2 thoughts on “Sunday Runday: Week 11

  1. Maybe the change of season is interfering with your breathing? My son has asthma, Spring and Fall always kicked his butt. If I were to do any kind of exercise I think it would be kettlebells because it looks fun and because I like to say kettlebells for some weird reason! Keep it up Sophie!! 😀

    1. I’ll have to pay more attention to when I seem to need my inhaler more. Perhaps I’ll find a link with certain seasons. Thanks for the info! And I have to agree with you about the sound of “kettlebell”!

Let me know what you think! Please?!?

