Posted in Parenting

The Time I Peed My Pants

No, I’m not talking about when I was a kid.  Though I’m sure I must have had some potty training accidents way back when, I don’t remember them.  I do, however, remember the incident that occurred about a month ago.

You see, I was getting ready to make some granola bars.  Since we had some salted caramel on hand, I was savouring a spoonful of the stuff (please tell me I’m not the only one who does this!) and reading the ingredients out loud to my brother, who happened to be in the kitchen at the time.

But then, as I was nearing the end of my description, something horrible happened: a glob of caramel detached itself from the spoon that I was holding and plummeted towards the ground.  Now, because it was the only reasonable thing to do, I tried to scream, but since I was reading, I ended up singing in an Opera-like fashion the words “sunflower seeds” (because that’s the ingredient that I was reading at the time).  At the same time, I raised my left leg to save the caramel from falling onto the kitchen floor.

I don’t know what I was thinking at the time, perhaps I had myself convinced that I would lick the caramel from my pants (in my defense, it is absolutely delicious!).  Anyways, my reaction elicited mockery on my brother’s part who had particular fun imitating me.  Needless to say, we both burst in uncontrollable laughter in a matter of seconds.

I was down on my right knee with the damp washcloth my brother had tossed me to clean my pants when it happened: I was laughing so hard that I literally peed myself a little.  Now, I could have just gotten back up, changed and moved on to other things leaving my brother in the dark about the accidental trinkle, but I didn’t.  The whole situation was so ridiculous that I couldn’t not announce matter-of-factly: “well, I’m going to go change my pants now because I just peed myself”.

As you can imagine, the uncontrollable laughter started up again.  Even now, as I think about it, I can feel some giggles bubbling up.

Do you have a funny anecdote you’re brave enough to share?

Author:

Thirty-something year old discovering the joys and bumps of motherhood.

18 thoughts on “The Time I Peed My Pants

  1. When I saw the title of this post I very purposely waited to read this one last – from the long list of notifications I had. I’m glad I did. I had a feeling that I would be laughing and wanted to make sure that I had time to go pee first, and did not have a mouthful of coffee. Again, I’m glad I did. I had a situation similar to yours about 10 years ago, except it wasn’t food related and it wasn’t at home. I was at work, we had a very stressful deadline on a complex project so the combination of having no time to be mindful of my bladder fullness and the stress plus lack of sleep caused me to have a little accident. A co-worker just out of the blue started to do his impersonation of Sloth from The Goonies. I shan’t go into detail but it ended up with me literally kneeling on the floor attempting to keep the trickle from becoming a flood. 😀

    1. Oh my goodness at work! I can totally imagine you trying to keep the trickle from growing. I think I managed to stop from completely wetting myself by the sheer shock of the realization of what was going on. Haha, glad I gave you a laugh!

  2. The thing that amazes me is that, as a mom, it doesn’t happen to you more often! It happens to me almost every time I do the laugh – you know the one – where no sound is coming out and you’re just kind of squeaking and crying. And that happens several evenings a week with my husband and daughter. In fact, if I’m laughing like that, my darling husband will remind me to go pee before I have an accident. Haha!
    I love that you were able to share this incident. It made me smile this morning. It’s good to know I’m not the only one.

    1. Totally agree that it’s amazing that it doesn’t happen more often! And yes, I totally know that laugh! Oh gosh, too funny that your husband and daughter remind you to go to the washroom to avoid an accident! LOL! Was happy to share, thanks for the comment!

  3. Thanks for making me pee a little just visualizing this and laughing, lol! I thought this was going to be about being pregnant — but the caramel sounds well worth it!

  4. LOL! I’ve been right there with you! If I’ve had a couple drinks and start laughing, there’s a good chance that I’ll have to excuse myself 😀

  5. At my age peeing myself is so common I’m actually surprised when I laugh (cough or sneeze) and DON’T wet myself. And, for some reason, I often feel the need to announce it to Mr. Comfortable. As for the caramel on the pants I think you should have eaten it. You don’t even really need the five second rule for that situation. Unless pee got on it then I’d pass.

  6. Oh gosh!! Oh yes, we’ve all been there (right? right??). I have to cross my legs every time I sneeze/cough hard. I blogged about peeing in 1st grade once; no shame! I haven’t had a hilarious accident recently, but my sister (never gave birth, fyi) once was drinking on a cruise and started laughing so hard that she peed … right down to her heels! It was maybe 1am and she just calmly walked away and went to her room to change (I think it happened onto carpet and no one else noticed …but still!). My best friend (also childless) once had to pee so bad at Target and held it juuust a bit too long – and peed down her pants in the checkout line! Apparently the mother and kid behind her noticed and pointed … YIKES! She just finished paying and left…. Good times, right?!

Let me know what you think! Please?!?

