Posted in fitness, Parenting

Losing the Pre-Baby Weight

IMG_3091

One thing I’ve noticed since starting to blog some 4.5 years ago (and this is probably because I read a fair amount of blogs written by mothers) is that there seems to be this desire to lose the baby weight and try to regain as much as one’s pre-baby body as possible.  That’s great, really (and no, I am not being sarcastic)!

In my case, I’m super happy with my post-baby body.  Ah, but now I hear you thinking: “But why is she talking about losing weight, then?”

Let me explain.

I am well aware that three pregnancies and deliveries have wreaked havoc on my body.  Let’s talk, for instance about:

  • my droopy breasts (nope, cannot even think of going out of the house without a bra anymore – as for strapless bras…useless!);
  • the road map of stretch marks on my belly;
  • my plumbing problems (oh hello unexpected flow of urine accompanying laughter!);
  • the scar(s?) along my perineum.

Need I say more?

Anyways, like I said, I’m totally cool with those.  I’m happy with all of the changes that have occurred in my body in the last 5 years.  They are the reason I have three beautiful children.  I would go through it again.  Heck, I want to go through it again!  But I digress.

The simple fact is that I don’t want to go back to my pre-baby body because, for me, that would mean regressing.  To be honest, even though my pregnancies took a toll on my body, it’s is my years of sedentarism before pregnancy that have caused the most damage.

For years, I convinced myself:

  • that I didn’t need physical activity to lead a balanced life;
  • that I just didn’t have time to work out;
  • that I was more of a bookworm and gamer;
  • that it was absolutely fine to spend so many hours sitting each day, every day.

If I could go back in time and talk some sense into myself, I would.  Of course, if I could do that, I probably wouldn’t listen to myself.  I’m, hum – how can I describe it…pridefully independent?  I don’t like receiving unsolicited advice.  I don’t like asking for advice.  I suppose I take it as a challenge to my self-reliance (“what, you think I can’t figure that out on my own?!”).  I like to be in control.

The good news is that I’ve taken control now.  I’m already fitter than I was five years ago.  And though it’s tough sometimes, I’m determined to get my body in decent shape.  In the past, after an injury (as has happened to me recently because of running), I would have just stopped.  Now, I found an alternate activity while I wait to get back on my feet.  In the past, I never would have even considered working out in the evening.  Now, I’ll take the time I have to exercise, even if it is in the evenings.

It’s no secret that to make any change three things are needed: a catalyst, a plan and a great deal of perseverance (at least, in the beginning).  I’ve always been super organized, so making a plan isn’t super difficult for me.  I’m also very stubborn, so perseverance works pretty well for me.  What I was lacking, was a catalyst.

As it turns out, my kids are that kick-in-the butt I needed.  I realized one day that I want to be able to run alongside them with ease as they learned to ride a bike.  I want to be able to play and run around with them without becoming out of breath within 30 seconds.  I want them to know that if you put your mind to something, you can achieve it.  Most of all, I want to do everything in my power to be here, in this world, with them for as many years as possible.  That requires a healthy body.

I’m still a gamer.  I still read.  I find time to crochet and play the flute.  But it’s not all I do now.  Now, I don’t only try to eat a balanced diet (which is something I’ve been pretty good with overall), but I am also working to have a healthy body.

Have you made any major changes to you life recently?  What has been your catalyst?

Author:

Thirty-something year old discovering the joys and bumps of motherhood.

15 thoughts on “Losing the Pre-Baby Weight

  1. Tu as certainement la bonne attitude! C’est exactement ça l’affaire, On se met en forme pour vivre le mieux possible , le plus longtemps possible . Pas pour retrouver son ancien corps de jeunesse . xxx

  2. I think you are doing great. I don’t run, it hurts my knees and inner hips. The joys of getting older 🙂 I do have a treadmill though so that helps and I walk at a 3 mph pace and do inclines. I was shocked that incline burns so many more calories(not what I do it for but still it was s shocker for sure lol almost twice as many) But the walking and incline still tone up the muscles really well. I love pilates. When I was younger I went to the gym, did the workouts but pilates gives me the same muscle tone, removes inches, keeps everything tight, but without all the wear and tear on my joints. Again, important to my soon to be 50 year old body lol. And I can do it right here at home, with a video and its over in 20 minutes. I think the important thing is to set the schedule like you did and stick to it. You will certainly feel better, and it does make you happier.

    1. Thanks! Everyone has their interests/limitations/constraints, what’s important is to find something that works and find the time to do it. Walking at inclines has to be outstanding for toning! I’ve never tried pilates. And yes, establishing a schedule helps in making something become routine. Totally agree, exercise definitely makes me happier! Take care!

      1. Oh my pilates looks like it would be nothing. I watched the videos the first time and was like, yeah that was a waste of money But then I did the 20 minute workout. Girl, when I stood up I felt like I had been at the gym, lifting weights. I thought hmmm, maybe something to this LOL

  3. I’m so happy you are in a great place now! You totally have it together. 🙂 It’s good for your body and it also sets a good example for your kids, too. One of my friends is really keen on that aspect as well (she’s also a Beachbody coach, so there’s that…). Staying healthy while they age is important, too.
    Btw I like your distinction between your overall health and some aesthetic issues of a post-baby body (which really don’t matter, in the end, right?).

    1. Thanks! It’s a shame it’s taken me so many years to get my priorities straight, but the body is impressively adaptive so it’s never really too late. And yes, setting a good example for my children is definitely a goal! My mom has always been physically active and though I spent numerous years stubbornly not following her lead, I think that all of the advice she gave me and all of the joy I saw her experience with regards to exercise are things that are helping me enjoy it so much now.

  4. I’ve always envied people that enjoy exercise. I like being active but gyms and equipment were never my thing. My husband has a gym in our garage where he heavy lifts a few days a week, he jogs during his lunch and goes to Jiu Jitsu 5 days a week. My muscles hurt just hearing him talk about it!! I like swimming, bowling, hiking, dancing around my kitchen while I cook dinner – things like that. I recently lost 25 lbs – I had been slowly gaining weight for years and this January I decided that’s it. I cut sugar, a lot of carbs, and junk food from my diet. I also stopped drinking my nightly 2 (or 3) glasses of wine. I miss my potato chips and I miss my wine but I like that I don’t feel like such a giant sloth anymore. 😀

    1. Isn’t it amazing how sugar affects the body? To be honest, I hate going to gyms too; I really, really like to be alone to work out. I don’t mind swimming in a pool filled with others because, well, swimming isn’t very conductive to small talk or lengthy observation of what others are doing. The thing about exercise is that, to my surprise, I realized that I actually like it and look forward to it. Dancing around your kitchen as you cook? Totally counts as exercise!

  5. Good for you! I still haven’t gotten it together (then again, I never had it together before kids), but am working on it. I’ve started with very recently cutting soda and tracking calories and will build on that.

  6. That is the story of my life. I have been a healthy eater and very organized but I never felt motivated long enough to continue exercising. Now with my baby here, I have found myself liking my body for the first time in my life. I have tummy issues, but I do not hate it anymore. I am working on being healthy. So I can play with my kid and do things for her without loosing my mind. I find myself looking forward to my daily run. I am disappointed when I can’t which is a first for me.

    1. Isn’t is strange? I was kind of shocked when I realized that I loved my body for the first time a few months after giving birth to my first baby. Concentrating on being healthy is the best thing we can do. Good for you for finding your motivation too!

Let me know what you think! Please?!?

