Posted in Ten Thought Tuesday

Ten Thought Tuesday: May 2nd 2017

TTT

  1. We have been having absolutely horrible weather (complete with flooding and the like) around here.  It’s cold and windy and rainy and grey.  Bleh… On the bright side, the grass is green.
  2. On Saturday, we made the most of the beautiful day (despite the 50km/h winds) and went to the park in the afternoon.  Then kids then decided that they wanted to take a walk and so Amélie and Charles took turns pulling the wagon while Elliot tried desperately to touch the turning wheel despite being securely strapped in.
  3. I decided to take a play from Elizabeth’s book and make some neon spaghetti noodles.  The plan was to eat them yesterday evening, but we ended up stuck in some horrible traffic because a streetlight was out of commission, so I ordered some pizza instead.  We are going to have it tonight instead.  Look at how awesome the noodles look though!

    IMG_3275
    The kids are going to go nuts once I plate this tonight.
  4. Sunday we had our movie night.  I made some brown sugar & sriracha chicken wings, homemade oven-baked fries and some popcorn shrimp.  We decided to watch Brave.  I found it entertaining, but it’s not the best (animation) movie I’ve seen.  The music was absolutely amazing though.
  5. Charles is getting really good at MarioKart Wii.  He races at 50cc, but he’s almost always placing top 5 now.
  6. I’m really happy because I’ve started playing the flute again.  I hadn’t realized how much I was missing it.  Oh boy, though, my mouth gets sore really quickly, I have to relearn to loosen up my lips and right hand a bit.
  7. I went swimming on Sunday and it went really well…except my butterfly lap.  It’s hard to believe that when I was a teen it was my favourite stroke!  Oh well, I definitely have something to work towards!
  8. I’ve finally finished the mesh for my crocheted scarf.  Now, I have to get working on the chains to weave through the mesh.  I’m planning on doing that while I watch my daily tv show with my husband as it’s not something that requires a lot of concentration.
  9. I recently discovered the joys of audiobooks!  I listened to The Chemist last month and it was pretty good.  I started listening to The Fifth Season recently and was wowed by the imagery.  The description and vocabulary used are really wonderful.  However, this book is definitely more complex that The Chemist and I’m having a lot of trouble following what is happening.  I might have to read it instead.
  10. INCOME TAX SEASON IS FINALLY OVER!!!!!  And I finally get my husband back *woot*woot*!

What’s on your mind this Tuesday?

Author:

Thirty-something year old discovering the joys and bumps of motherhood.

15 thoughts on “Ten Thought Tuesday: May 2nd 2017

  1. I really like audio books but I found that it really is better for me to listen to books that I have already read. When I tried to listen to something I hadn’t read yet I seemed to get lost easily. It’s like my brain thinks it’s the same as when I have the TV on for background noise and I don’t really need to pay attention. If the narrator has a good reading voice it’s awesome adding that storytelling dimension to the book experience!! 😀

    1. Interesting about needing to read the book first before listening to it in audio format. I’ve been listening to audio books while driving (but I’ve had to stop with The Fifth Season as I had to concentrate way too much to understand what was going on and I don’t want to cause any accidents) and doing dishes.

  2. I agree with everyone about the pictures of the kids, those brought a smile to my face. I saw those neon noodles on Elizabeths blog. I told her those would be good for holidays too. Red, white and blue for the 4th of July, red and green for Christmas, etc. So happy for you that you got hubby back, Ya! 🙂

    1. Thanks! The kids are always happy when we bring out the wagon. I absolutely agree about the colourful noodles being used as themes to some hollidays! Now that I know how easy it is to make them, I’m definitely going to be breaking them out for our National holliday, Christmas and the like!

  3. Those wagon pics – gah! So cute!! Today my oldest had some friends over (who conveniently have little sisters just the same age as my youngest daughter!), and they were riding in our wagon, too. It was so windy here, too!
    Those noodles, omg… I want to try that! I’m afraid my kids won’t eat them after all the effort… but it’s worth a try. I love the holiday coloring idea!!! THAT I will try…..

    1. I guess a lot of us are having windy/rainy weather. The noodles aren’t that much effort, honestly. They were the highlight or our meal. The kids (well the two oldest) gobbled them up in record time. The baby, on the other hand, wasn’t impressed and just threw them on the floor (but they, he’s never liked spaghetti, much prefers things like fusili or rigatoni).

  4. Mario Cart: I’m still the house champion, though the kids are quickly gaining on me. I was on a swim team for seven years and I can’t believe Butterfly’s your favorite! I remember every time I had to do a medley, I about died. More power to you mom!

    1. What’s your favourite character/vehicle combo? I like any medium-sized character and the zip-zip. I still drive automatic, but I’m still trying to learn manual to help get me through the time trials lol. Yeah, I know. I couldn’t believe that fly was my favourite when I did my single lap on Sunday and almost died haha! But now, I’m determined to be able to love the stroke again. I’m nothing if not stubborn.

Let me know what you think! Please?!?

