Posted in Parenting, Projects

So…..Sewing

IMG_3421

First thing’s first, as is the case with many things in my life, I never would have bet on ever wanting to sew.  Given that sewing for me has always been synonymous with trying to repair a ripped pant hem by hand and ending up with a wobbly line of very uneven stitches, it’s not very surprising that I found it unpleasant.  However, ever since taking out the old sewing machine, I’ve fallen in love with it.

Now, if you remember, I mentioned a few weeks ago that the machine stopped working mid-project.  The needle wasn’t picking up the thread from the bobbin anymore.  Well, I got it serviced and it turns out that the problem was this:

IMG_3502
It turns out that a broken gear isn’t very conductive to a  working sewing machine…

Now that everything’s working again, I’ve been going a little crazy with projects.  I first made a Mei Tai (I used this pattern.  It was super easy to follow and perfect for a beginner). for Amélie and then one for Charles.  I mostly used some flat sheets because I had them on hand and we don’t use them in our beds.  Also, given that I had no idea how the projects would actually turn out, I didn’t really want to go out and buy any fabric.  This project allowed me to learn about backstitching and thread tension.  I also got better at sewing in a straight line as the project progressed.  The Mei Tai’s are by no means perfect, but I’m pretty pleased with how they turned out and the kids love them so that’s a plus.

Then, I decided it was time to try to create something simple.  I don’t know what it’s like where you live, but here, in Québec, we have vaccination booklets in which, well, the given vaccines are registered and where the doctors write in the height and weight of the kids during each visit.  We also each have a medicare card that we have to bring with us when we go to the hospital or doctor’s office.  Plus, if you’ve ever been to a hospital, you’re issued a hospital card that you must bring the next time you visit.  That’s a lot of stuff to carry around!  I decided to make a case for each kid to hold their booklets and cards.  Through this project, I learned a lot about planning and taking into consideration an appropriate seam allowance while deciding the dimensions.

The first one I made is the one with the foxes.  I changed the pattern slightly for the second one and prefer it.  I only need to sew a strap on the fox case and it’ll be finished.

After that, I decided to tackle our washable diapers.  You see, I’ve had some of them for years (we bought our first ones when Charles was a baby) so they’ve seen a LOT of use.  Unfortunately, there were quite a few that I had put into storage because the elastics were completely shot.  I had considered getting them repaired, but just kept procrastinating.  Instead, I decided to just bite the bullet, find an online tutorial for elastics replacements in the brand of diapers I use and just went for it.  And you know what?  It worked!  By the time I had gotten to the diapers, I was getting pretty good at sewing in straight-ish lines.  It was still a challenge though and I learned a lot about using elastics and a seam ripper (as well as how to be very careful with PUL).

IMG_3489
(Left: diaper with shot elastics, right: diaper with newly replaced elastics).

Last but not least, I decided to try to find a way to use up the rest of the fabric from the cases.  I found a really simple bow tie tutorial.  So far, I’ve made one for Charles, I’m then going to work on one for Elliot and then I want to make a headband with a bow for Amélie.

IMG_3501
Lookin’ good!

So, what’s next?  I have some nice sheer pink fabric that I’d like to use in place of tulle using this pattern to make a cute skirt for Amélie.  I would also love to make a dress with this super cute pattern once my skill have improved a little.

What projects have you been working on lately?  Feel free to link up in the comments!

Author:

Thirty-something year old discovering the joys and bumps of motherhood.

19 thoughts on “So…..Sewing

  1. So I also grabbed a basic sewing machine after having a daughter just to sew little projects like bows, blankets, etc for her. Where did you find the pattern for that backpack… I LOVE IT! My daughter has a little lovey puppy dog that she carries everywhere and I think she would be just tickled by it.

  2. J’ai toujours été impressionnée par ton intérêt par toutes sortes de choses… que ça soit un sport quelconque ou un travail manuel… Tu étais enfant et presque tout ce qu’on te proposait, tu avais envie de l’essayer… Je suis tellement fière de toi!

  3. I love sewing, it opens up endless possibilities! PUL really can be difficult to work with, especially considering using pins can cause leaks. Costumes and dress-up clothes are so much fun to make, and especially useful if your child likes characters that aren’t mainstream.

  4. I’m so impressed with your sewing and projects! Love it! When did you learn to sew? I keep encouraging my daughters. They take it up hit or miss. One can make some clothes with a pattern or pillows, and I’m not sure whether to just leave it at this or encourage more. (I don’t know how to sew so I don’t honestly know what’s important to learn or what’s not. I mean, has she learned enough? Could she change the elastic like you did with what she’s learned so far? Etc.)—Terri

Let me know what you think! Please?!?

