Posted in Ten Thought Tuesday

Ten Thought Tuesday: May 16th 2017

TenThoughtTuesday

  1. I decided it was time to change my TTT image.  What do you think?
  2. Today is a beautiful day so I decided to make myself an iced matcha this morning in the mug I made a couple of weekends ago when I went to a ceramic cafe with my friends.  #awesome IMG_3417
  3. You might have noticed that I haven’t posted a Sunday Runday post in two weeks.  I’m not sure what happened, but I need to get a grip.  I know that if I start running again, the rest will follow.  Send me some good vibes, ok?
  4. Yesterday was Elliot’s second appointment with our osteopath.  She’s working on helping him deal with colds better so that they don’t drag on or turn into ear infections anymore.  His third and last treatment is in a few weeks.

    IMG_3415
    Just chillin’ in the waiting room.
  5. I recently discovered the @vibrantandpure Instagram account and I’ve been finding myself drooling uncontrollably ever since.  I decided to try her technique out and perk up the cream cheese for the kids’ bagels this morning.  Here’s how things came out.  Needless to say, the kids were very impressed when they saw their breakfast.

    IMG_3419
    From top to bottom: matcha, maqui powder, acai powder, paprika & curry powder
  6. Because I like to try new things, I decided to set up my late grandmother’s old (according to the instruction manual 1971) sewing machine and learn how to sew.  I figured I would try to make a doll mei tai for my daughter.  I was surprised by how much I liked sewing and by the fact that the things I was making were relatively decent.  I made oodles of mistakes, but they have allowed me to learn a great deal, so all in all, it’s a good thing.  The problem is that once I was halfway through the headrest, the machine stopped working.  Namely, the needle isn’t picking up the thread from the bobbin anymore.  Urgh!  At first, I thought the bobbin had emptied itself, but it hadn’t.  I re-threaded the whole thing, but it didn’t work.  Any tips before I bring it to get serviced?
  7. Did everyone have a good Mother’s Day?  I was spoiled with a massage, a lovely bouquet of tulips (my favourite flower) and we had a really lovely raclette supper.
  8. This morning, I brought Elliot out in the front yard.  He’s not a fan of the grass, but at least, he doesn’t cry when he’s sitting in it (he just doesn’t move haha!). IMG_3430
  9. Elliot has pretty much dropped his morning nap.  He can generally stay awake for the full hour it takes me to drop the kids at daycare and get back home in the morning.  If he sleeps, it’s generally a mere 5-10 minutes, then he’s happy as a clam once we get out of the minivan.  Amélie and Charles had dropped their morning nap at about the same age.
  10. Amélie is officially out of training pants for nights.  As for Charles, he wakes up dry about one day per week.  I noticed that when he ends up going to bed around 8 rather than 7:30, he almost always wakes up dry.  I don’t want to make a habit of getting him to bed that late, so I might have to move up supper instead.

What’s on your mind this Tuesday?

Author:

Thirty-something year old discovering the joys and bumps of motherhood.

22 thoughts on “Ten Thought Tuesday: May 16th 2017

  1. Je crois que ma mère avait déjà mentionné ça à moment donné dans ma vie. Mais je ne sais pas ce qu’elle avait fait . Regarde ici http://www.singerco.com/
    Je suis bien content de te voir tenter l’expérience 🙂

    1. Marci! Je vais téléphoner demain au customer support pour voir si quelqu’un peut m’aider. J’ai lu plein de trucs, mais rien de ce que j’ai essayé n’a fonctionné. Au pire, il y a une place à DDO ou Dorval (je ne me rappelle plus) qui sont certifiés pour travailler avec les Singer. Va juste falloir que je trouve comment enlever la machine de la table… 😀

  2. You can have my allotted share of life’s exercise vibes – I’m not going to use them so enjoy! Elliot just sitting in the grass is so cute – that’s how my son was too. That is until he realized there were bugs outside – which promptly caused him to freak out. He’s in his late 20’s now and absolutely not a fan of the outdoors! 😀

    1. Aw well thanks haha, I’ll definitely use those vibes! Elliot is actually the opposite of your son with regards to bugs. One of his life goals is to grab as many as he can and stick them in his mouth.

  3. The new picture is great! Elliot is the exact opposite of my farm boys! When they were little they didn’t really like the feel of concrete under their shoes. They were used to grass and soil. Maybe Elliot will grow up to live in NYC! lol

  4. I agree with everyone else the picture is great! You’ll get back to the running. Sometimes you just need a break. People who train for marathons train for 3 weeks and then take a week off 🙂 How’s that for some motivation LOL. It lets the body muscles retract and not stay all stretched out. They say it’s better for you 😉 I wish I knew more about sewing machines but sadly I don’t.

    1. Thanks! It’s so hard for me to get out of my shell and post pictures of myself. One baby step at a time. And thank you for the motivation boost! I didn’t know that marathoners take a week off every month when training. I did indeed get back to running, but I feel less guilty about stopping for a bit. Hope you are having a wonderful day!

Let me know what you think! Please?!?